You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Remote Controls for TV / DVD / Blueray -- Why must each device have its own?

in #life6 years ago

I suspect most remotes are so cheap that it's just not an issue to throw one in. The average user is not technical and they just want it simple. I've had some universal remotes, but they could be complex to set up. There were also apps for old PDAs like the Palm that had an infra red port. I can control my LG TV with their app, but it's easier to use the remote. It just seems people tolerate this issue

Sort:  

It just seems people tolerate this issue

....I think that's a big explanation for it.

Now if we take that single point..

What people seem to tolerate, continues to exist, even after 30 years.

Now it makes you wonder.. What else do people tolerate, that doesn't change?

Ohh, this sounds like a nice segue into my next article.