You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ethics of Teleportation – A thought experiment

in #life6 years ago

Have you not seen The Fly?

I've seen discussion of destroying the original after sending a copy. I think that's enough to put most people off. Of course the same technology would allow you to make any number of copies. I assume the uncertainty principle makes a perfect copy impossible, so there could be introduced errors each time. Didn't Star Trek have something like a Heisenberg compensator or something? I doubt we will see this in even 100 years, but then I'm not a quantum physics expert.

Sort:  

I've thought about Heisenbergs uncertainty principle with this, and I don't think it would be a show stopper.

That principle, in simple terms, means the more accurately you can measure the position of a particle, the less accurately you can measure the speed and vice versa. So for this machine to work all you need is to be able to measure the position but in an instant.

It applies at the sub-atomic level for measuring particles like electrons and muons. But, if you could identify the atoms and the position of those atoms, would the state of the sub-atomic elements matter?

I really don't know what resolution you need for a good enough copy. The storage and bandwidth would have to be enormous.

In 100 years time I am sure we would fit on a Class 100 MicroSD card :)