How Science Has Consciousness All Wrong

in #life7 years ago

photo-montage-488177_1280.jpg

To be honest, I'm a skimmer. Of headlines. Of articles. Of coffee (can't stand the froth in a latte or ma' green juice for that matter because bleck).

I ran across a headline that read:

Fresh Ideas for Chasing Consciousness

Usually I bite when I see anything related to consciousness/spirituality/synchronicity. This time, with this headline, not so much. Because anyone acquainted with consciousness knows it can't be chased.

The logical side of me decided I should at least read the article, you know, to actually be informed before I start spewing non-sense. And it was just as I suspected it would be, coming from a scientific perspective. They suggest that we need to "decode" consciousness.

And just as a Scientist would roll their eyes at a Hippie like me, I kinda just rolled my eyes. It comes down to this: Is seeing believing, or is believing seeing?

helix-nebula-11155_1280.jpg

Consciousness itself is like a magnet. The more you chase it, the more you repel it. Like attacks like. It's a law.

So how do we reach higher levels of consciousness without chasing it? How do we become more like higher levels of consciousness so we can attract it? Ahhh, the true question of life. It leads us down a rabbit hole, really. Who am I? What's my purpose? Where do I come from and where do I go when my body dies? And even further down the rabbit hole, "Do I even exist at all?"

That rabbit hole has no end. We could literally spend our entire lives chasing consciousness.

Sure science has a purpose: research, building, inventing. Maybe their approach to contacting extraterrestrials will lead to the answers they are looking for, but chances are extraterrestrials are searching for it, too, leading to more chasing.

ufo-1622863_1280.jpg

Let me let you in on a little secret on how to chase consciousness:

You don't. You become it.

So then that begs the question, "How do I become it?" And the answer is so simple and lacking in technology it has been right under our noses this whole time.

Meditation. It starts with getting still.

In my meditation practice I've reached a place where thoughts subside, I can distinguish between my thinking mind and the part of me that just is, and I can feel my light-body apart from my physical body.

And somewhere amidst all the parts of me, between/inside of/outside of every molecule, unit of energy, thought and emotion...consciousness lies. You can't chase it. It just is. While science can try to prove it, you won't need any other proof than to just become it and embody it.

If you chase it, it will be like trying to get a piece of egg shell out of raw egg. You can't quite put your finger on it.

Let's connect. Leave a comment. Follow me for more like this, Upvote if you like it, and Resteem to share the love!

Xo,
Stehlla (Lacey)

Sort:  

@stehllaxo yes yes yes yes yes!!!!!...I'm so happy you are on Steemit. I agree with everything you said in this article. Just today someone comment on some article 'meat eaters have more gray matter in brain, study showed they are smarter', I replied 'inteligence don't come brain, consciousness goes beyond brain'...something like that...and they flaged my comment hahaha Oh how am I happy to see you here. I will write about similar stuff, so if you want follow me. Love from part of planet called Croatia. :)

What an odd thing to flag! I hope we don't get flagged here for having a different opinion than others :(

Thanks for the comment! I will follow you!

xo

When someone's perception is coming from mind/ego they do stuff like that

meditation is a miraculous practice that has existed for thousand of years yet many do not care about mental-hygeine . I am also making similar post ,..to promote such healthy practices . thanks for the post.

Awesome! I will follow you and look forward to reading it.

I definitely think meditation is as important as any other things we do for health: eating well, sleeping, getting plenty of water.

Meditation is key and I suck at it. Lol
I've been meditating for about a year on and off.
I have had moments where I feel the lightness of traveling outside of myself. I just need to keep trying.
Thanks for your post!

I don't think anyone is actually good at it. That's why they call it a practice. :D

Honestly, that feeling of lightness is a huge milestone! I wouldn't know what that is if I didn't get sick and take cough medicine this last winter! LOL! I fell asleep, was half groggy, and I felt a near separation of my astral body from my physical body.

That moment was very enlightening, though.

Thanks for the comment! xo

Spiritual enlightenment through cough medicine! lol
I know what you mean though, I've felt some strange things while taking certain cold medicines!

Right!? Nyquil is nasty haha!!

It really is! lol

i have also been struggling with meditation ... i didnt knew wheather i was in the meditative stage or not .. Then is joined Art of Living 'Sahaj meditation ' programme ... it was a beatiful experience , completely chnaged my perception about it . i learned dat it is 'effortless alertfullness' . they gave me a two word mantra -a super easy one , and it take me only few mins to reach that stage ... u shud alos try as that organisation is present in almost 120 countries ... here is also a post that i have made on meditation .

You all take care about your oral hygeine , physical hygeine , or whatever-hygeine it is .WHAT ABOUT THE MENTAL HYGEINE ?. Now just 20 mins a day can change your life .

read from the below link it will take not more than 2 mins .
https://steemit.com/life/@ronyy/deeper-than-the-deepest-sleep-yet-you-are-compltely-awake

Amazing post & photos!

Thank you! :D

Photos are simply impressive - fantastic.

This is very interesting! Upvoted!

Thank you very much! xo

Well, in this type of questions you can start by a definition. What is your definition of consciousness in this article? Consciousness is a word that is used mainly for the state of being aware of and responsive to one's surroundings, but sometimes also for the abstract notion of global consciousness/ interconnection, or some people equal it with energy.

If you give the first definition, the short answer is that well, many cells in the part of our body that is the brain have learned to work together in a complicated way, as a product of our evolution. "Decoding" consciousness is the effort to find out how exactly these cells cooperate.

If you are referring to consciousness as something that exists separately from the physical body, then as we have no way of proving that, you are only based on your personal feelings and emotions to support that belief.
Can we really trust our own feelings and emotions? These are created, again, by cells and hormones in our bodies as a product of evolution! Emotions (fear, love, anger/aggressiveness in some cases and empathy/friendliness in others etc) are basically instincts and automated responses that have helped us survive. What gave us the purpose to survive and evolve? Well, some things had it, some didn't. Those who didn't have it....didn't survive. Only those who had it remained, including us humans.

About consciousness equaling energy... Energy is the power derived from the use of physical or chemical resources, to provide light, heat or movement. It's the ability of a system to do any type of "work". Our brain needs energy to function. We get our energy from food. Animals get their energy from plants. Plants get their energy from the sun. Our conscious thoughts are a product of using that energy, which is changing from i.e. chemical to electrical. So in essence, yeah, I guess you can say that consciousness is energy, but then you would have to say that everything else in the world is energy as well. It's just how the world works, by energy changing forms.

Well articulated! I think you are referring more to the physical aspect of consciousness (or living with a conscious and practicing awareness in our daily lives) - which, in relation to the term I'm referring to, is a physical manifestation of consciousness.

The article I read was on Scientific American, and they were searching for a scientific and biological way to, "decode awareness and consciousness."

What I am referring to is the eternal and more abstract term. It exists outside of the ego, thought, and emotion. It is unchanged by any universal force, and exists regardless of how consciously we show up in our daily lives. It's the life force within us that exists before, during, and after us. As far as I can tell, it is immeasurable.

Check out the work of Eckhart Tolle, "The Power of Now."

Xo

Turns out I was right. You ARE super interesting. I'm not one for chasing consciousness, I more so feel that I am just me, if that makes sense? My heart and mind are aligned and I move as one. My decisions are my own and I reap the benefits of those for better or for worse.

I usually fall asleep through every meditation. I meditate to calm my stress.. then.. plop.. I'm out like a light lol

Heart/head alignment. Exactly! I heard a theory about merging all levels of being (mind, body - including "deleting" the chakras, light body, astral body) together. This theory suggests to operate as a whole instead of as segmented parts.

I might have been ahead of the curve, but I remember wondering at a young age if it was more important to follow my head or my heart. Turns out it might just be both.

That's how I feel. I don't know about Chakras but I do feel 'at one' with myself. Sexually, spiritually, mindfully, heartfully. I've yet to discuss sex but it may be something that I discuss in the future :)

Congratulations @stehllaxo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You all take care about your oral hygeine , physical hygeine , or whatever-hygeine it is .WHAT ABOUT THE MENTAL HYGEINE ?. Now just 20 mins a day can change your life .

read from the below link it will take not more than 2 mins .
https://steemit.com/life/@ronyy/deeper-than-the-deepest-sleep-yet-you-are-compltely-awake

I feel that science, like religion has gotten a bad name because of the behavior of bad actors and those who use it improperly to push an agenda.

Pure science is really nothing more than the attempt to understand reality as it really is, and take note of it. Experiments produce results that can be documented and referenced later and built upon, but should never be considered to be ultimate truth, as ultimate truth cannot be known without seeing the entire picture.

The problem we have today with both science and religion is that a blind dogmatic faith surrounds them both, which is not helpful to skillful practice of either. Interestingly, spiritual pursuits and scientific pursuits are fundamentally the same. In both cases one works toward understanding the greater truth.

As for consciousness. Awareness appears to be observing experience, however when one looks deeply it becomes clear that experience is aware of itself and needs no observer. Also, ultimately awareness itself is an object and has no permanent unchanging properties.

So I suppose the scientific method may have some trouble exploring the non-dual nature of ultimate reality.