You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't Be A Fool, Drop Out Of School! Advice To Young People On How To Live The Good Life

in #life7 years ago

The unwise words of a 14 Year Old Boy.
Sounds like me at your age. If only I knew then what I know now.

I advocate Education
I Advocate Mortgages
I advocate working Very Very Hard

Even with all of the above i'm alot happier than the misguided abused Boy I was at 14.

Sort:  

By all means have your words but don't call my opinions unwise words. Its what i think. You can have your opinion and ill have mine.

How wise is a 14 year old, who sees that this world needs to be big enough to hold all of our opinions. If we could all accept that there is no ultimate truth, only opinions, then we could all live in harmony on this beautiful planet.

Upvoting yourself doesn't make you right !!

Come and tell me different in 30 years.
I did and said exactly the same things the same as many others.

The Unwise words of a 14 Year old was a generalisation rather than pointed directly at you.

However because of your age you took it personally and got straight on the defensive.

You advocate programming, being in debt your whole life, and working really hard at pointless things?

I can only speak for the UK really. But we have two choices. Get in Debt to buy a house or pay Rent to someone else and make them rich. There isn't a 3rd option for us. Depending on your outlook and what you want in life a nice house isn't pointless to me, neither a nice Car etc. However when you do have a valid point is the time someone is terminally ill. THEN money and possessions are futile and pointless.

No foreclosures over there? No renting individual rooms and living well below your means?

Foreclosures or as we call them "Bankruptcy buys" are purchased by the wealthy and rented back to the poor for extortionate rates. My Neighbour Rents a 1 Bedroom House for £600 per month. The Average take home Wage is £1100. So over half gone !! For this he has to cram himself, wife and 4 Children into the small space.

Whereas yes I am in debt but I pay the same for a Mortgage on a 5 Bedroom House that in 25 Years I will own and pass down to my kids. Where my friend will no doubt be paying over £1,000 by that time.

A single room in the UK is approximately £400 per month.

We are such a small Island there just isn't the capacity to house the ever growing population. This was the main reason for getting out of Europe because the huge influx of people forced upon us.

I bought a foreclosure, and I'm not wealthy. My mortgage is extremely low. There are ways to do it, but people have to live well below their means, have a lot more cash flowing in than out, and be smart about what they purchase.