Brought My Friend Home

in #life6 years ago

IMG_2545.JPG

Just when the pain of the loss of my dog has started to become memory, the Vet called to let us know that his remains were ready for pick up. I don't have the heart to open the urn yet to see what is inside, even though I know what I will find. My son asked to see his ashes, and some day we will open it to see, but not any time soon. As he once watched over us in life, he now sits on a shelf overlooking the dining room and living room where my family spends most of its time. He has his bowl, his collar and leash, one of his favorite bones and his dish with him as well, as if he was still here. A humble shrine to a great spirit that will be sorely missed. Until we meet again, my friend.

Sort:  

Two stray dogs in Afghanistan saved 50 American soliders. A Facebook group raised $21,000 to bring the dogs back to the US and reunite them with the soldiers.