Moving on from feeling Stuck #8 - Of laziness and politeness

in #life6 years ago

FOTO8832sonMay 06, 2018.jpg

Say those magic words

Recently I visited a spring fair in town. There were many shops and a lot of people in the city center all pumping into each other. It took me some 10 minutes of intense thought just to make the decision that I'll try and capture some shots from this jungle. As I was strolling along the shops I realized, there are so many of them and it's probably best if I just take pictures fast and don't ask for permission. After a few shots I was stopped and reminded by a shopkeeper I should ask first and that these simple interactions can easily lead to unexpected opportunities. He was kind in stopping me and after I politely asked him, he let me take some shots. Walking away from that shop I couldn't forget what he said: "Small politeness opens up peoples hearts".

He was correct of course. I was there to take pictures, but I let myself get so lazy I convinced myself I shouldn't ask for permission even. I kept on walking and decided to ask every time and soon enough I found something else. I got my shots and in addition I also got happier, because I was talking to people and simply having a good time regardless if I got to shoot or not.

It's so easy to let laziness take control and start skipping some obvious things, but I didn't realize it doesn't just hinder me from doing the things I'd like to do, but also severely limit the possibilities I'm exposing myself to. And in the end, I never felt good giving into laziness.

So the lesson is not to be lazy and do the things you know are right.

Today I put it unknowingly to the test again. After a photoshoot I had some spare time and there were some people photography themselves at a blooming tree (the same one where I just ended my photoshoot). With some encouragement from my model, I went over and asked politely if I could take some pictures of them. Well, I could and I had lots of fun.
It's funny thinking about it. I want to shoot, but I always make up so many reasons in my mind why I shouldn't approach strangers that are trying to make selfies etc with their smartphones. I almost always end up leaving, because I'm too tired to bring up the courage to go over there and simply politely ask a simple question.

My mind works in weird ways.

But today was a good day and I'll soon post some shots of those strangers.

/sulev

Sort:  

With little effort, laziness recedes.

nice :)

great job