Why You Should Actually Lose Hope! [random rambling in response to @kaylinart]

in #life7 years ago

Hope is believing without evidence, it's essentially day-dreaming.

When I hope for a better future I don't necessarily realize all the work I need to do to achieve my goal of an bright future. What hope does is making me feel as if my goal is easy to reach. I end up imagining already having all the good things in life and once my daydreaming episode is over life hits me right in the cut and I end up going the other way - I'll start believing all my dreams are unreachable, I'll start perpetuating the idea I'll never reach anything and I should be just happy with what I have right now.

You may say that's not all hope is and you are right.


Hope is also an constant test. Each time you take a step closer to achieving your goal you are faced with a challenge. If you fail that challenge, again, the same thing happens - you either lose hope and ditch your goals or you keep faith through success or failure. Clearly it's bad losing all hope after failing a few challenges, but if you don't find any success in what you do you need to reevaluate your goals. Maybe your hope is wrongly placed. The process of losing faith should be an incremental one.

You shouldn't get emotionally attached to hope.


As mentioned before, if life comes crashing down and you end up totally losing all hope, you'll feel miserable. It might be better not getting too attached to some dreams/goals.

Hoping for something too emotionally is like hyping

I hate hype, but we are hyping up the chances of achieving our goals when we are hoping to reach them.
Let's say I want to become a rockstar. So there's our goal = rockstar. I like to play guitar and want to do so in the future in front of stadiums. I am fairly convinced if I play consistently every day, create a band and make music I'll get there in 3 years. If not I'll change something in 3 years. No big deal.
On the other hand if you are too passionate about it you'll probably push yourself too hard, get stressed from any setback and completely lose it when you haven't lived up to the hype in your head after 3 years.

We also express hope if we think about others.

"I hope he gets better" for example. While this is a genuine and caring thing to say, I think what would be a lot more appropiate is "I want you to get better". It's ultimatelly what we think by "hope" in this context, but are we using "hope" here? Is it because of the uncertainty of the future or because it's more informal and polite? Saying "I want" sends a stronger message of care in my opinion, but also one of more commitment.

Hoping tends to be mixed with doubt

Why do people hope? It's always when something isn't sure.
Let's stop hoping instead!

There are rarely any absolutes in life. But there are varying degrees of certainty and by expressing how much you are convinced of something you can asses any question without mixing it up with your wants and feelings.

I guess what all this rambling comes down to is this:


Don't think about hope and don't be emotional. If you want something... [Shia can end this sentence].

lol

What made this post come to life? This post: @kaylinart


You can find me on:



Questions are welcome!
Upvote, comment, resteem and follow if you like!
Have a great day!
Sort:  

My most favorite argument in this post is "f life comes crashing down and you end up totally losing all hope, you'll feel miserable. It might be better not getting too attached to some dreams/goals.
Hoping for something too emotionally is like hyping"
For me
These words are the actual post, have so much meaning

Glad to be of any use :P

The things you discussed here is the key stones of the theory "Reality Transurfing". It describes strong difference between hope and faith and harm of emotional approach to your goals. If you really interested in such kind of knowelege you can find its author (Vadim Zeland) on youtube.

thanks, never heard of that!

As a little girl, sometimes I would daydream aloud in front my Granny, saying something like: "I hope this and that would happen, and another this and that, and then another this and that..."

One day she told me: "Stop! Stop hoping! Hope is an endless ongoing mission! Start believing! Start believing you are getting there! And for God sake, start doing those first steps toward it!"

Good words! :)

I appreciate your post. Whatever u have written is 100% correct.
Followed u......

I disagree, haha!
https://steemit.com/life/@carry0n/don-t-be-glad-that-it-s-over-be-sad-that-it-happened-in-other-words-just-don-t-do-it

“It's only after we've lost everything that we're free to do anything.” ― Chuck Palahniuk, Fight Club

I see. I left a very thoughtful comment there. Be sure to ask if something isn't clear. Truth emerges from discussion. :)

Lol what a great message from Shea! And I agree, there is a lot of emotion and doubt in common talk about hope. And even if there is hope, that doesn't factor in all the work that's required to achieve the thing you're hoping for. I agree there should be more certainty in wanting something and deciding to get it done. Hope adds too much emotion and doubt into the equation. Great post :)