Supernal Chronicles #2| Spreading strong vibes to all

in #life6 years ago

Throughout the week I aim to make several of these posts, detailing the content I enjoy and what I gain from it. It’s necessary to share what we enjoy and I want to do that with all of you. If you’re looking for something new to experience and are curious of what other content creators I flock towards, then I hope these chronicles can be of benefit to you! Every 48 hours or so I’ll have a new post with links and thoughts on each video/music/artwork etc.
 


Jordan Peterson Explains Consciousness
 


 
I’ve followed Jordan from the start of his rise into fame and have become much more appreciative of how he describes stories and purpose. So few ‘modern intellectuals’ in this day and age even approach the realm of purpose and giving hopeful meaning to your life; Terence McKenna does a great job, but sadly he passed away in 2000. Lots of intellectuals seem to get stuck in the heavy lifting and trying to explain why X is wrong and Y is correct, with respect to perception and what words to use, but Jordan Peterson gets right to the heart of the matter.
 
The video goes quickly, so let me break down what is being said. The first line, “consciousness extracts the proper world of being, from potential, through truth, and then it’s good”; there’s a lot being said in this sentence, so lets expand upon it. I’m unsure of how Peterson is using “and then it’s good”, and I’m going to go with both ideas of using ‘good’ as light and hopeful, and as a state of being content; at the end once consciousness has gone through it’s phases it remains content at what it perceives, and for us this is the ultimate ‘good’ in the eye of man. Potential refers to the sensory information that we experience through our bodies, which is funneled through our minds where our world is assimilated. As we experience reality we take a small piece of time to obtain/extract, the proper/efficient and resolute aspects of our sensory experience; ‘being’ is the culmination of our senses united as a singular entity. Our mind is the ‘truth’ he refers to as it is the conduit for us to ‘know’ and ‘understand’ what is happening in our environment, along with our minds housing the cultural structures and habitual memory that’s been programmed into each of us. Consciousness is the coagulation of each of these pieces I’ve just mentioned, ultimately forming a continuous state of being where by we interpret the efficacy of reality in order to create purpose within ourselves and act upon it. Hindsight allows us to refer back to past actions and improve upon them when they happen again, as our own senses confirm to us that patterns are cyclical and we will indeed face the same experience again.
 
When Peterson refers to “natural right and responsibility”, this is the purpose/volition we surmise over time as it confirms to our individual consciousness how we ought to act within our environment. This can be applied to other animals to describe why they act in their environment, along with adding in more of recent scientific understanding related to neuro-chemical expressions, gut bacteria and so on. The “hero of heroes” is Peterson refering to classical mythology and allegory where by these stories express the exact function of consciousness within their respective story-lines. Pantheons of gods, goddesses and demigods each contain a piece of a singular whole, where if you merge them all together you have a complete sense of conscious function and ultimate purpose.
 
Continuing forward Peterson expresses the function of consciousness to define order within a chaotic system, and this resulting action is what we call Evolution. This is why consciousness seems to, “disappear into the mystery of the past”, as it literally goes deep enough to show how the universe ordered itself to form new elements, build stars and develop planetary bodies. Peterson ends with stating how this idea ultimately seems to be akin to what we define as ‘god’, and I would have to agree. God is merely a simple way to define the absolute totality of all things within the universe, because all of these things relate back to the same origin and function in harmony with each other.
 


Alan Watts - Let Go and See Who You Are
 


 
This is a nice hour-long lecture about buddhism and hindu cosmology. Alan Watts is revered by many, but I myself have not dove into him as much; I think the sound of his voice and expression loses me, so I prefer Terence McKenna. Both Alan and Terence talk about very much the same thing, just they use different words and paragraphs so there’s a small difference to what they express. Alan Watts is still highly worthy for his merit and truth, so I would suggest for folks to give him a shot and learn something new; I’m certainly going to listen to this talk here.
 


Joe Rogan - DMT Story
 


 
I’ve really learned a lot from Joe Rogan since I found his podcast like 3-4 years ago. He has a massive amount of different people on his show and they talk unedited for up to 3 hours at times, which is not something you often see and get to experience. You can really learn a lot from listen to his shows, and I’d highly suggest people give him a shot to see what you can gain from it all.
 
This particular video Joe and his guest talk about DMT. DMT is short for Di-Methyl-Tryptamine, which is a chemical compound that is very simple and found in most living organisms. When smoked or injected, usually smoked, it brings about a immense psychedelic experience that lasts 10-15 minutes. Most users report it being the strongest and most impressive experience they ever encounter. I’ve not tried DMT my self, but it is the active substance in Ayahuasca. I really appreciate Joe Rogan for being so open about his psychedelic use as he gets it right and explains how beneficial it is.
 


Excellent Adventure of Gootecks and Mike Ross ep 168
 


 
Fighting games wouldn’t be where they are without Gootecks and Mike Ross, both hugely influential in the scene for well over a decade now. While Mike has dipped out of the scene for personal reasons, Gootecks is still going strong and these classic videos series are so enjoyable to watch. This series has left a lasting impression on me with respect to how difficult fighting games are and how enjoyable they are to watch. Beyond that, the individuals that make up the FGC, fighting game community, are some hilarious and down-to-earth folks. This series in particular, featuring Smug and Punk, is extra hilarious as both these guys vibe off of each other and are a bit weird in their own ways; K.Brad and LIJoe are two other favorites that I’ve enjoyed seeing on the show. It fills the heart with endless warmth to learn about all the people within these various gaming communities, and it revitalizes the hope one has for the future to see wonderful people doing their thing. I highly suggest checking out some tournaments which are often streamed on twitch.tv, especially the famous EVO tournament!
 


h3h3 - Youtube is Doomed
 


 
Ethan and Hila are a great duo and make some great content, and I think they’ve adjusted well to the changing landscape of developing videos for the internet. This video expresses to me the ripening time of creators and their audiences switching to new platforms. Twitch has an upload function and is likely working on releasing a youtube variant, along with them already having the largest streaming community out there. Steemit is growing and as new content creators look for alternatives, people will flock here and eventually the old dogs, like h3h3, will see the growing and fervent community here on steemit, dtube, dlive, dsound and possibly make the switch. A lot of smaller channels have switched to Steemit already, so we know the tide is rising. It’s inevitable at this point, so let’s keep our heads up and stay hopeful.
 
 
If you wish to support me further, check out my Patreon. I'm doing all of this to educate people and spread the knowledge I've acquired. If you're looking for some tutoring on Art, Writing, Philosophy and methods to handle the inner Ego then sign up through Patreon :) Thank you very much for your support.
 
I have a Discord server setup where you can easily chat to me during stream, plus I have some interesting links and chat-rooms you can dive into :)
 
Discord: https://discord.gg/e6WJ2tp
 
Try out Mannabase, a blockchain effort to create universal basic income. Use my referal to get bonus Mana! Join Here
Check me out on Sola I’m active on Sola and would love to share some upvotes to you Sola users!
 
I also use Minds and Gab. Both places are alternatives to Tumblr and Twitter and have growing communities.
 
Further reading and references for developing Art techniques.
 
the /ic/ Wiki. Lots of info to get started with. https://sites.google.com/site/ourwici/
 
This is a download containing more resources. https://www.mediafire.com/?i44dwzkf9j9n8

Sort:  

Wow!

So much awesome content to dive in here :>)

My brain is somewhat tired at the moment, but I will definitely give it a second read and listen to the videos too, at a later time. I will also resteem this post as I feel it's worthy information for many of us out here.

Thanks for doing all the digging for us! I guess you like digging ;>)

glad you appreciate it my dude. yup, i consume lot of content and i want to share that with others as i find a lot of it very valuable and worth going into. some of it is philosophically heavy, others funny, silly, and more etc. etc. lol

my dude
I like the sound of that :>)

Keep sharing what you find worth sharing and keep laughing, even when it's about your own comments and or sentences ;>)

Life is all about having a good time.

I also really love watching Joe Rogan and H3H3, with have really interesting guests all the time. I've heard that Joe is going to invite Andreas Antonopoulos again soon.

soon you say? honestly i hope he has other people on who know about crypto, like Lubin. Having on Vitalik would be funny but joe probably wouldnt follow any of the techo jargon, however Vitalik can certain speak towards the decentral aspect. I think joe would like Vitalik too heh, maybe even get him stoned :D