Don't let conflict rule your life when you can rule conflict.

in #life8 years ago

I can be 'the worrying kind' in terms of feeling guilt.

Someone once told me that I had 'Working class guilt', and I think I am guilty even of that accusation. Being just a few minutes late for work threatens to ruin my day if it catches me off guard! Asking for help can also induce guilt, being in the way does, and of course, doing nothing but watching awesome films and TV on a weekend instead of being productive gets me feeling guilty too. Hah. (Why is there so many good TV series' nowadays anyway? It's a conspiracy!)

Photo source: Here

These feelings have thankfully diminished over time, because I know they're there. I have actively tried to overcome them, patiently. Yes, I still have other issues that are part of my "acceptance complex" as I have named it, but it seems the older I get, the less shits I give. And it's marvelous.

I wouldn't have been able to pinpoint the issues without confronting them, however. It doesn't just happen automatically. Anything I ever overcome has and will be accomplished by taking the bull by the horns and asking myself over and over again 'WHY DO YOU REACT LIKE THIS?' and having no mercy. I fight with myself to make sure that I don't behave like an emotional ferris wheel - round and round it goes, without any changes.


It doesn't always work, but it's part of the game. The game to make myself better, and to make myself enjoy life as much as I can. I've learnt that avoiding conflict with myself and others only makes me more anxious long-term, and thus it's not worth the effort. Get it over with, rip the plaster off. Try not to be a dick while doing it of course, and it's always important to pick your battles. Be it with yourself, your partner, friends or colleagues. You'll always learn something from it.

You may be surprised by the amount of people who feel the same way you do.