The joys of (mostly) switching off from social media

in #life8 years ago

My phone broke over a month ago.

When I say it broke, I mean I can't use the top third of the screen and the bottom half is very slow to react, and sometimes even chooses not to. Why is this significant? Because at the very top of my screen is where my Facebook app sits, as well as my Instagram and Snapchat apps. They probably miss me, seeing I used to pay attention to them many times a day. Whilst I hope they aren't feeling neglected, I've realised something.

Photo source

I feel much more free without them. Less stressed. Less bothered about keeping an eye on new updates and messages.

Sure, I can access some other apps which means I can send messages (albeit rather slowly) to key figures in my life. But that's all I really do with my dear smartphone now. No games, no social media, no interruptions. I can call people, which surely is what a phone is for, so I don't feel like it being broken is a big issue right now. I even like it. Sure, I access social media when I get home, but for perhaps 10-15 minutes to see if there's something I need to pay attention to, but it's compared to what probably was hours of checking and scrolling and messaging during my day previous to this.


Photo source

I sent a form in to my insurance company the other day in order to fix it. I'm going away at the end of the month, and would like to use the phone for pictures and general internet travel searches, like looking for restaurants and hotels. But I feel a bit reluctant. Sure, it's easy to not have social media apps installed, but the temptation can be too great. And before you know it I'm back at checking my phone every 10 minutes, putting another stress factor into my life.

Now I read books again, after a long hiatus. I get stuff done around the house. I write. I study harder. I am more productive at work and can focus a lot easier than before.


Pic credit

How and when did chronic social media use become such a big burden in my life? How has this managed to sneak past all I know to be enjoyable? Social media definitely isn't. Life is enjoyable. And if it wasn't for this epic trip I am going on, would I even change it? I know fine well that as soon as it's fixed I will be back to my old social media routine. I know myself better than to deny that.

So I will enjoy the time I have before I become a slave again, before I'm back to the life-sucking, tragic and socially acceptable habit of being glued to my phone.

But until then, I will carpe the hell out of the diem.

Sort:  

I hear you. When I was commuting, I spent a lot of my train time on Social Media, mostly Facebook and Twitter. Since I have been mostly at home for the past six months, I have gradually reduced my Facebook time and, with the state of the election, I finally decided I couldn't be on Facebook at all. I didn't want to have arguments with the friends i have there just because we disagree politically, and I become very frustrated when I try to have rational discussions with them. I have posted very little since September and only keep up with my Twitter account because I'm trying to use it as a way to promote my writing. I realize in the past few days that I don't really miss Facebook at all. We'll see what happens after the election.

Good on you! I think that's a good approach to have, using it as little as possible and when you do it, you do it for something productive and not just 'because'. Best of luck for the election as well, it will be a relief when it's over, even for me here in Europe!

Public transports are really amazing with this respect. Many people are just absorbed by their phone not paying attention to anything around. Same happens in classrooms.

I have the chances to lecture to small groups of students. Phones are banned. I fully agree with what you said regarding focus, attention, etc. I witnessed the difference.

In short, we need to impose discipline to ourselves with our phones :)

Fully agree with banning phones in a classroom - people aren't there to use social media. My pet peeve is people crossing roads and not looking where they're going, and DRIVING and using phones! Oh, I won't even get started on that subject. I agree 100%, we need some discipline! :) Thanks for commenting!

I still check facebook, but I've found I'm keen to finish up and get back on steemit. The people are more reflective and put a lot more thought and effort into their posts.

Haha, just right! ;) Yes, on steemit people don't say 'Oh such a bad night' with no follow up in order to generate a fake emotional response from people who don't care. There's some good content on here!!