Of Loss and Balance

in #life7 years ago

Why is it that we humans grieve, is it just an evolutionary prod that serves to strengthen our social connections, or is it something more, something beyond our understanding.

I thought a lot about loss during my 3 and a half week walkabout. It took me a long time to come to terms with the passing of my best friend and lifelong guide. But even with all the grief, I saw and gained something more important, peace and purpose.

I asked myself and now you all this: would we care as much about those we love if we knew they would be with us forever, that our lives would face no adversity or change? I don't think so, I think the fragility of life is the reason we value it so much. That is why I have realized that mourning for the loss I had is not what I should have been doing, I realized i should celebrate and cherish the time we spent together and that I should take what the little puppy embodied and apply it to my being, his endless love, his resilience and ever present peace. Every tree and rock I scattered his ashes on took me one step more to being at peace, coming to terms with my chaotic life.

No matter what life may throw at me, and it has thrown quite a bit. I know that if I keep my head forward, those bumps won't be able to stop me. I have learned that having a huge loss doesn't mean it's over, or that I can't move on, it's just a way to learn and to grow.

That trip made me grow up, and I am so grateful to have had the chance to do it. All of you who read my work, look at my art and laugh at my jokes made it possible.

Lots of love, be blessed and remember how sacred and special life is!

Kara

Sort:  

Glad you are back, Hope you had a good trip and it seems you are feeling peace now :-)

hello Synesthesia!! Nice to see more people like you - here joining steemit !! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure! Here you can win money while bloging ! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. ! Cheers! Greetings, @khunfarang!

Thanks for sharing... that touched my heart.

Welcome to Steemit @synesthesia, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

There is definitely something to the concept of loss or change makes the present all the more powerful.

I tend to react to loss with memories that uplift instead. I wrote a bit ago about the concept of a Speaker for the Dead, you should consider reading those books. They are the sequels and the actual story behind, Ender's Game . They have such an amazing look on funerals and mourning, as well as what life means, etc. They are also some really good science-fiction, despite some of the metaphysics going on.

Great read here either way. Looking forward to more.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kara.avery from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Welcome to this amazing community @synesthesia
Great intro, I hope you will enjoy steemit. Wish you to have a great time on here. You can enjoy my posts too and follow me as well at @pastorlea. Thank you and have a good one

Welcome to steemit !! Enjoy this beautiful world! Followed. Follow me back 😘

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment