How I stopped smoking!

in #life6 years ago

Hello Steemit,

Today I want to tell you about how I stopped smoking so I can possibly inspire you to do so too!


Eventhough I'm only 18 years old I was smoking for about 2,5 years now.
If you would ask me why I did  I would probably not know an answer, also I don't want to blame anything or anybody because that would straight up just be stupid...

My story is probably similar to the story of many other people:

I tried it out on a party and began to smoke regularly on partys.
After that I slowly began smoking in my free time.
After I went to a new school and met some new friends, that also smoked, I also began smoking in school.
Like that I became a half-pack-a-day smoker slowly but surely...


So that's how I started, but how did I quit?

As you can maybe imagine I do not have that much money as a student so my first problem is that smoking here in Germany is really expensive, about 7€ for 23 Cigarettes in early 2018 to be exact.
So after  calculating I found out that I'm spending 1200€ on tobacco every year.
And with the knowledge that it's probably not going to get cheaper in the future that argument was even stronger.
Also, I was ill for about 8 weeks, because I couldn't get better while I smoked but I didn't want to stop and I hated it.
So on the evening of the 28th November I made a list with the advantages and the disadvantages.
Guess what won... 

So far the reasons, and that's how I made it!

First of all this was not the first time I tried to quit, so I already gathered a bit of experience.
I already knew that for me the strategy with slowly smoking less and then stopping completely will not work.
So this time I just stopped from one to the next day.

On 29th November I stopped and the first days really were hell.
All my friends asking me to go outside and smoke with them, the restlessness I felt inside me, being not able to just sleep without waking up in the middle of the night.
So I googled a lot how to make it easier and all that kind of stuff.
I found out that it's good to be reminded and to be distracted.

So after searching for a while I found an app called Smoke Free.
btw I'm not payed to advertise this or sth I just thought it was good and it also might help you...

It had a trial and a pro version which I bought for about 3€.
The app showed how many seconds, minutes, hours, days and so on I didn't smoke for, also you could calculate how much money it will save you to stop in one year.
In the pro version you also got a lot of missions of which some are good and some aren't.
A really good one for example was the first one, they told you to throw the amount of money you would have spent for tobacco in a glass for one month so you can actually see how much you saved.

Till now, I did already save about 250€ in just 2,5 months, which I obviously invested in cryptocurrencies ;)

I hope this post will help you to stop because smoking does not bring you anything advantages.
I know you don't want to hear this, just like I did, but sadly it's the truth...


Greetings and Good Luck on your journey...