The Loss of A Friend

in #life6 years ago

Screenshot_1.jpg

Do you have childhood memories? I have a lot of them. They are sad, they are funny. I remember my childhood friend with special tenderness.

I remember when we first met, she came in to the hall way as a 8 week old puppy, her legs longer than her body could handle – she was sliding about – it was like watching Bambi on ice. A childhood delight.

UoX-gtmiY6U.jpg

When we first made eye contact with each other, me as a little girl, her as fresh puppy, we instantly knew we were to be the best of friends.

The adventures and mischief began quickly and they lasted the whole twelve years. I didn’t matter how old we both got, we always managed to entertain each other.

2S0B_qMYrpU.jpg

The entertaining didn’t always end with joy. Walking Kimba down the canal I began to notice her back claws scrapping the ground – a little sign of arthritis – this was confirmed by the vet. She didn’t let her condition get in the way of any of her behaviour, the only way you could tell she had the condition was the massive struggle she fought every time she stood up, usually after a long lay/sit down.

One day I was awoken by a loud crashing sound, I jumped to see what it was, it turned out that Kimba had be trying to stand up, but she couldn’t and she just collapsed.

After witnessing her struggle to even stand up, me and my mum stayed by her side while she lay on the floor, from 3.45am to the time we had to take her to the vets, at 9.00am. While we were waiting with her, she again tried to stand up, but to no avail. this happened a couple more times. It was so bad, this loyal dog of 12 years embarrassed her self my relieving her bladder on the bedroom carpet. It wasn’t her fault, it was no ones fault.

hSpCLvtoM-M.jpg

While we were waiting to go to the vets, we sobbingly suggested the idea of putting her to sleep, we both knew this was her time to go, and I think she did too.

We managed to help her downstairs and we began to notice her behaving in a way we have never seen her behave, we knew there was something else up with her, it was more than just her back legs going.

Before we left the house for the vets, the rest of the family were informed that Kimba was unlikely to return home. The family all said their good byes, tears flowing like the heavens just opened.

dL_6AWDuLxc.jpg

N6m6QB54-qU.jpg

ND8boJFZpp0.jpg

We arrived at the Vets. The vet gave her the check over – he knew what to expect as my mum had called them in the early hours – and straight away, he noticed her eyes. Apparently, during the night she had suffered some sort of nerve attack (We can’t remember the name of the attack, it begins with an L?), he said it was quite remarkable and extraordinary that she had even manged to stand up, never mind walk.

This was the Kimba we knew, a natural, born fighter.

The vet gave us the options, they were either to put her to sleep, or to try giving her a pill and hope for the best – the pill had no guarantee. Me, my mum and the vet all agreed the best option was to put her to asleep – considering her age. My mum and I both agreed to stay with her while she was put to sleep. We were both crying uncontrollably, comforting her, stroking her and just generally being there for her.

Xews6ioEvUA.jpg

The injection went in, and within a matter of seconds she began to fall a sleep.

We began stroking Kimba, I don’t know why, it just seemed natural and it was a way of saying thank you for being the best pet the family has ever had. I hope she knew that. I’m sure she did.

I kissed her lifeless body goodbye and managed to mutter the words “thank you”.

Kimba, you were part of more than half of my life, you were one of the most intelligent and loyal dogs I have ever come across.

RXEGy83L_iI.jpg

Sort:  

i had also a nice dog his name was Baron , he unfortunately died . It was a drama in my family :(

I understand you. Very sorry...

I kissed her lifeless body goodbye and managed to mutter the words..
Painful.. Sorry for your dog (life)

Thank you!

😔 can understand your situation

Awesome looking this animals, personally i pet that's same dog. all the best

I have a lot of childhood memory.And it recommended that, in my teenage, i have a dog.In 2008 he was dead.And then I don't buy any dog or another animal.B7t still I remember him.His dome is beside my home.To see your post ,i so remember

Friends can not be replaced. I understand you. I bought a dog for my daughter last year. But memories are always with me!

Wow.. very nice animals Post.
Thanks for sharing this dog.
I love it dogs.. I appreciate your life....

Reading this post tells how emotionally attached you're to your pet. For you to have keep kimba for 12years you have adhered strictly to vet instructions in recommendation. Been a vet too as well, same happened to me when one of client brought there dog after mistakenly drinking poison for her bath. I tried all possible best to save her but it was late. I couldn't stand the sight of watching them cry profusely. That why i took as a responsibility for myself to ensure every pet owner take their pet for medical check up as scheduled. That why have always post about it too. If you have taken kimba for medical check up. We nerve damage could have been prevented. At least with some drugs. Atleast if notice earlier you can always call for vet attention. The next dog u will have never underestimate vet recommendation and advice. Enjoy the live of having a pet. Its paramount for heathy living. @afeezee

Dear @tanata it was mind blowing story, I know after 12 years of frienship how you say Good Bye to Kimba, it was a painful time for and your family as well. Dogs remaine good friends as pet animal. Thanks for sharing this true friendship story...

Wow ... Excellent animals photography... thanks for sharing with us..... I think , you are a great photographer... Best of luck friend… @tanata

"a very good canine never dies, he constantly remains, he walks besides you on crisp autumn days when frost is at the fields and winter's drawing near, his head inside our hand in his old way.

It feels bad to leave someone like that, what else can we do, she was suffering and it was the only thing to give her relief. You did a good thing, you relieved her from her pain.

This great animals, i like this dogs....

That's a nice dog..This is your dog..Am i right?😊😊

Your dog looking very petty....@tanata..
I have also a dog and he is also my best friend

so sorry to hear that...
She really is very lovely
And yeah after spending 12 years together, she definitely knew that u love her so much..

So sorry to hear of your loss. But this was a great tribute to your beloved Kimba. She was obviously a great friend.

I can imagine how difficult it must be after 12 years.
So sorry for your loss

Wow...So sweet animals.... i appreciate your kiss. All the best my dear friend

Очень нежная и трогательная история. Я немного прослезился, не могу спокойно читать о таких трогательных историях связанных с животными.

Dear Tanata
I have a beautiful dog that I love very much. Her name is Miya. Only 11 months. I have not yet gone through the pain of losing it, I hope that is far away. But I equate this pain with the loss of a relative whom we love very much. She's family. I'm sorry for the loss of yours. I feel your pain.
I hope it goes by
Look at her picture, please:
miya4.jpgmiya.jpg

She's lying next to me here on the floor and sent you a little kiss.
Good evening!!!!