You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dear Steemian, What is Your Opinion on Meeting Strangers from Steemit?

in #life7 years ago

I have that opportunity on Saturday since I am going to my first Steemian gathering in Orlando. @jerrybanfield will be there so I an guaranteed of meeting one strange-er....lol just kidding jerry.

To answer your question @adsactly, I think it is perfectly acceptable and runs the same change, if not better, of striking up a friendship (and yes even a loving relationship in the right circumstances). While it is easier to hide oneself behind his/her keyboard, which is the risk on many dating sites, on here, it is lessened. My reasoning is simple: read someone writing's and commenting for 3 months, 6 months, or a year and you will get to know them pretty good. It is hard to hide oneself with posting that much.

Using myself as an example, I am writing a lot about steem and the excitement of this blockchain. I believe that comes through in my writings. I am passionate while also trying to teach others. I will stand up for what I believe and even get into a commenting pissing contest once in a while to make the point (I try not to do this too often). My upvotes are spread around because I want others to succeed. I do not besmirch the success of others like the whales on here. I am happy they were able to take advantage of the opportunity presented to them. I know there are some with ill intentions and play games but, for the most part, those are the outliers.

So am I someone you want to hang out with? Some will say yes, others no. But you will find me the same in person.

And, again, if one puts him or herself into this site, the true nature and essence comes out.

Sort:  

Yes, there is a bit of my soul in every post. Quite a few people I know and follow share their stories, the good, bad and ugly. You do, by osmosis of information get to know people better.