Are chickens considered birds?

in #life6 years ago

View the original post on Musing.io

Chickens are birds It's just that they can't fly. Incase you didn't know, an ostrich is a bird too. Thier body doesn't posses the morphological features that supports flight that's all.

Chickens posses every characteristics of a bird from thier morphology to thier mode of reproduction it's just that they are among the flightless birds.

Some examples of flightless birds includes peacock, chickens, ostriches,penguins etc.

So there you have it. A chicken is a bird.

Sort:  

Thanks alot teebud, for this nice explanation. It was one of those moments where I was sitting there and realized chickens don't fly, but most birds do in fact fly, and thought "what the hell is a chicken"? lol, I could have googled this of course, but I thought it would make an interesting musing question, and I already had a nice laugh over one of the responses.

Much appreciated tee!

Glad I could help Futuremind