What Happens When You Take Three Days Away from Steemit And What I Learned

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Source:Giphy

I left my laptop at my apartment and headed out to the country for the long weekend to see my family. I made the conscious decision not to bring my laptop as an experiment to see how attached I was to steemit and to makes sure I was focused on my family.
IMG_E2436.JPG

IMG_2427.JPG

Here is what I learned:

1.) I am addicted to Steemit: this came as a shock to me as every morning my routine is to wake up have my breakfast and then check all the posts, comments, replies and of course my wallet maybe even for a 0.001 amount to redeem. It always gives me excitement. I took away a morning routine that I have had now for about three weeks and I felt pretty odd not knowing what to do with my time after breakfast. And also wondering what was going on with my friends on here. Instead I went outside and enjoyed time with my animals, visited with my parents and relaxed.

2.) I DO have friends on Steemit: I legitimately missed my friends that I have made on here even though I have never met any of you. I wondered how everyone was doing and what new posts they had put up. Not only that, they were also wondering where I was. My friends in HHG group by @ainie.kashif (I wish I could name you all) were all very missed as well as others I have connected with like @mbell who I enjoy doing contests with. I didn't know it was not only the media part I was attached to, but the people as well and it warms my heart.

3.) I have found my place: what I mean by this is that I have found a place where I can express myself in anyway that I feel I want to. Whether it is my posts that I think are funny and will make people laugh, contests, or just something I wish to talk about, I now have a solid foundation to do so. A lot of the things I speak of or feel about certain issues are impossible to talk to people about for fear of causing problems or offending others. This is partly because I am so open minded and am not closed off to the regular ways of looking at situations. This causes people to want to argue with me but I live by a rule that "you don't have to agree, you just have to understand" and I use this to navigate how people feel the way they do. On here I feel that if people don't like my post, they can simply go past it, instead of getting largely offended because the amount of knowledge and information on here is not agreeable to everyone. It is a free feeling. It is free press of the heart and mind.

Thank you all for letting me take time to reflect on what Steemit means to me.

FE43C0C96BE7C7550AB7250FFDD124352.gif

Valentines Day Love GIF by GIPHY Studios Originals-downsized_large.gif
Source: Giphy

FOLLLOW - COMMENT - UPVOTE - RESTEEM

Sort:  

Oh! You are the sweetest! I did miss you, there was a contest of guessing where the picture was taken, I knew it was a park at Canada. Being Canada the second biggest country in the world, the probability of you knowing the place was low, but my brain said "@teggit is from there, she will know!", but also, the communication here is still a little odd to me, so I didn't know how and where to write you, an old post? A reply to a reply?

Just comment or reply on anything and I will find ya!!

Hi @teggit
Excellent article. I subscribed to your blog. I will follow your news.
I will be grateful if you subscribe to my blog @user2627
Good luck to you!

Sounds Good, and Thank you.

@teggit - This a genuinely nice article. Very heart warming. I'm glad you found you place. ;)