An Update on my Attempt to Help Out my Local Restaurant - Mission Failed

in #life4 years ago

IMG_6144.JPG

I'm not active on Instagram of Facebook for many reasons. One of them is that I like to be honest, I'm a no filter person and there's so much micro- and macro drama happening in the world.

In other words, I don't like to make the truth more beautiful than it is and let's be 'honest', that's what many people do on there and in life in general. I'm not one of those people though.

Although I said in earlier posts that I could try to focus on the positives and post photos and videos of my town, in order to raise money for 'Restaurante Terra Bela', it just doesn't feel right. Especially now it appears that all the drama that keeps happening to the people who work there keeps adding up, day after day.

A while ago, I handed them the money that I made with my previous posts ( about 11 euros ) and told them the honest truth - along the lines of what I wrote just now - that I didn't see the point in continuing blogging and raising money for them.

They asked if I couldn't just share pictures of the sunset? I said that I could but that it didn't feel right, that it felt like a lie.

If it doesn't feel right, it doesn't feel right. That's the kind of person I am ( hypersensitive, Libra, empath ) and there's no point in doing something that will lead nowhere or that feels off all the time.

Instead, I prefer to keep supporting them by lunching there a little more often than I used to do, by having a daily coffee and some snacks, by buying some groceries via them and by listening to them talking about the drama in their lives, trying not to judge.

Posting about this place just doesn't feel right. I can't work up the energy for that.

In fact, the woman my age, who works there with her mom, told me today that she can't find the 'alegria' happiness and energia any longer to keep the place running. That she lost 5 to 10kgs in the last months ( and she was already skinny ) and that she started smoking more.

She made it clear to me that there's a pretty big chance that they won't prolong the lease ( for another year or two ) of the restaurant, on the first of September. That they can no longer muster the energy ( The lack of clientele - and thus money - that they are experiencing these months doesn't help either ).

You don't wanna know how much 'bad luck' they attracted since their opening in September 2017 ( it all started with a devastating fire in October 2017 ) and even if you want to know, I won't share it, as it's very personal.

In other words, this will be the end of me blogging about Terra Bela. I'm not saying that I won't blog any longer about this hamlet where my house resides but this crowdfunding effort will be short lived. I just don't see the point in it.

Thank you for your help so far! It's appreciated, even if it was just a drop in a leaking bucket that was already too broken to ever be repaired.

Um grande abraço,

Vincent

P.S. I couldn't stop myself from sharing a picture of Monte Frio, taken at sunset a couple of nights ago. This could be called 'Dutch angle' and I'm Dutch plus I feel it fits the content of this post. The colors are pretty but something feels off about it all.

Sort:  

The colors are pretty but something feels off about it all.

In photography this type of composition is actually typically spoken against unless there's a specific feeling that you want the audience to feel: nausea.

It's a result of the slanted composition that gives the feeling of it being unnatural and discomforting. You'll often find it's used in films that are purposely attempting to convey the feeling of nausea; like a character waking up and getting out of a hospital bed while their head spins.

Sorry to hear you couldn't save your local spot. Though, is there any harm in potentially having the cafe owners create accounts on Hive and post about whatever they want to make a little extra? Of course they probably won't make business-saving money, but perhaps it could patch up the dent a little?

had the same thought. maybe you could extend your support to them as much as showing them the basics of account creation to have them share their story on their own.

Cheers. See the reply to namiks comment :<)

Yes, the selection of this Dutch tilt photo was very much on purpose. Sorry if I made you feel nauseous.

I definitely considered to teach the cafe owners about Hive but I know them well enough to tell you that it wouldn't be worth the energy. They have other things on their mind and no time on their hands. They need all the time they have to stay afloat these days and probably rather have me lend a listening ear or two to them, every now and then.

I appreciate your comment and advice though :<)

So much upheaval in the air everywhere. It's quite tough to witness so much change at once, and so forcefully.
It is not your mission to keep working for their benefit, even if they deserve it. If it doesn't feel right I think you are wise to do as you decided and to step back. You can always support them in other ways as you mentioned and even if it sounds harsh and maybe even preposterous from our human point of view currently:
I think humanity is a healing phase. Healing is always painful but through the pain we can get in touch with what is really going on vs. what we thought might be going on.

I wish them all the best in the coming months and years, maybe new pathways will open up. They almost always do where one door is closed.

You totally get it, my friend, as if you read my mind.

We all need a wake up call every now and then and it's up to us whether we play the victim or whether we learn from a situation, make the necessary changes and level up.

Sometimes being 'painfully' honest is the best thing to do, instead of patching up huge wounds with tiny plasters that don't stick any longer, while ignoring the problem.

Of course we can still be kind and listen, but it's up for each and everyone of us to fall and stand up again, to change ( or not ).