Exams & Wedding in Malaysia

in #life6 years ago (edited)

G'day Team,

For those who pay close attention to my account, they'll notice that roughly every eight weeks I disappear! And it's that time again when life and leisure take the back seat to the dreaded exams. With only two weeks till I finish my rotation in General Practice it's time to start regretting not paying closer attention. But this rotation has an added hurdle. I'll be attending my partners' sisters wedding the weekend (2 days) before my exams... in Malaysia. So including flights and travel time, that's 3 days of cram-study out of the way. It'd be a waste not to enjoy the trip, but a shame to fail, so balancing my time and focusing on study coming into these exams will be more important than ever.



35330205_10216214211570980_7814410978929410048_n.jpg


GP Exams

GP examinations are pretty straightforward. Two 'mock' cases where we sit down an simulate speaking to a patient. One of these is a diagnostic case and the other is management. There's also a written MCQ quiz.

The challenge of GP is never understanding in-depth pathophysiology or struggling with complex patients or extensive management plans, it's simply the breadth of the material. GPs deal with so many different areas of health and six weeks sitting in a single clinic is no way to really get this down pat. It's probably the thing I've noticed most about the rotation, and definitely, the thing that's put me off ever wanting to be a GP.

Wedding

The second big event coming up is my partner's sisters wedding! I've only met the bride once, but I'm already super excited for the event. It'll be my first time traveling to my partners home country of Malaysia with her, and I'm pumped for all the yummy food!

The placement of the wedding was a huge concern, but I feel I've prepared enough coming into exams, so hopefully, I can manage a few days of carefree fun without stressing out too much!

Thanks

As always thanks for taking the time to read. I'll be around over the next few weeks, though perhaps not as active, I'll be reading and monitoring my posts as always!

Thanks

-tfc

Sort:  

Have fun at the wedding and good luck with exams. Make sure you enjoy Malaysia. You don't want to regret missing out on a life event because you got 90 on a test instead of 80.

Probably more like a 60 instead of a 50, but who's counting :P

Thanks heaps! :)

Good luck with the exam and enjoy the wedding and the food!
If not GP, what will you choose?

Who knows there are so many options! Im thinking surgery or radiology