Balance

in #life6 years ago (edited)

How many different roles do you have to play in your life? Have you ever struggled to keep the balance between all those roles? In my case, it is a constant struggle, becoming more and more complicated day by day..
I'm a medical undergraduate. My day starts with the clinical training. This training demands a steady balance between empathy, emotions and professionalism.

image

Often I find myself struggling to be the compassionate empathetic doctor the patient demands, whereas maintaining a formal and professional relationship between the doctor and the patient, keeping in my mind the limits I can go..
And then in the evening I attend lectures and discussions. That leaves me with my night time where I'm supposed to read and remember the huge textbooks for reference.
And then comes my role as a thinking feeling human being. I have to struggle to find time for any kind of activity for creative expression. I scarcely get any time to sit back and write a piece of poetry, or to play my violin or sing my heart out..

image

Without poetry or novels or music, I'll be nothing more than a walking dead. A blank mind and a numb soul..
And again I have to play my role as a daughter, a sister, a lover, a friend.. Which is a very sensitive role, as well as a very responsible one..

image

Dedicating time and energy for all the conflicts of family, friends and relationships is the biggest challenge. And if not for them all, what is the whole point of balancing everything else?
Every time I get stressed out with this balance, I think about every other person who has to play many more roles than me. And watching them getting through it all, I reassure myself that it's not quite impossible.. It's all about managing your stage hours and playing the roles aptly, prioritizing and covering them all...

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.58 % from @appreciator thanks to: @theguruasia.