Who Don't Know Me By Now| The21plus Year Recap| Getting Reacquainted

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hey Loves, Newbies, and Whales-at-Heart, it's been a year ago when I first step upon STEEMIT. I heard about this platform watching a youtube video

of the "Christian Witch" Valerie Love :) @cryptodiva. By the end of the video, she had me convinced that I need not to waste another moment dry browsing F@c3b__k and to go checkout what STEEMIT was. Now, at that time I had no idea of what to expect; I was full of questions "Is this some get rich scheme?" "Are there any of MY folks on their?""What the hell is CRYPTOCURRENCY and the blockchain?" And once I got here, I was like how I think most newbies are, the little minnow that can.

My “Introduce Yourself Post” was posted actually a few weeks after joining. I never really been that big on just jumping in introducing who I am, however, using the #introduceyourself is one of the best ways for people to find you and the other newbies alike. Contrary to what I did, it may be best to actually use this post to describe WHO YOU ARE; meaning your hobbies and interests or any recent Steemit achievements (like the time I took 1st place in @donatello Fitness Challenge
https://steemit.com/fitnesschallenge/@the21plus/21plus-take-on-week-16-fitness-challenge ) vs .a poem telling how I grew up as a fatherless child https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@the21plus/dreams-of-the-fatherless-2017923t112746358z (be aware of the first impressions you are making).

Although I felt my introduction post may have been a bit too transparent. After I pulled myself together, I ventured off once again and came across the OpenMic platform hosted by @luzcypher

One of my first performances was an original piece called L.I.F.T. ME https://steemit.com/openmic/@the21plus/steemit-openmic-week-49-l-i-f-t-me-original#@redsfallin/re-the21plus-steemit-openmic-week-49-l-i-f-t-me-original-20170920t190018961z
The feed back I got from this was such an amazing feeling,I couldn't be more appreciative. Plus I had moms by my side and lil sis standing in on background vocals.

From there, it was on like popcorn for a nice little minute jumping back and forth between OpenMic and Karaoke. A few of my favorite cover performances I did were:

Eryka Badu AppleTree. This was really cool and one I would cherish. It was my first time making over $100 on an OpenMic performance post.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@the21plus/steemit-open-mic-week-47-covered-by-triniti-4

Janelle Monae Q.U.E.E.N. Was playing around with some filters, and caught a few eyes...
https://steemit.com/openmic/@the21plus/steemit-open-mic-week-56-or-q-u-e-e-n-cover?sort=new

This video here is actually when @geechidan had the Jackin For Beats Contest poppin off!! This particular week contestants were to choose beats used by Notorious BIG
https://steemit.com/thecut/@the21plus/21plus-jackin-for-beats-or-notorious-b-i-g

Ok so quick funny story… back in February I set forth to do an Aaliyah Honorary Tribute Contest for my Blk Renaissance Project. It was my first contest I’ve put together on this platform. The contest was to run for a week allowing contestants to submit covers, mashups or remixes of their favorite Aaliyah song. Well a week goes by and only one person @jamesgetsit submits their contribution to the contest. “Think” HipHop/Rap Full Song by @jamesgetsit https://steemit.com/dsound/@jamesgetsit/think-hiphoprap-full-song
I must admit it was a bit of a disappointment seeing only one entry. However, after hearing how dope the track was, I was proud to have his contribution supporting what I was doing at the time. I wasted no time sending him the winning funds and announcing him as the winner.

The next day after I did so, I received another entry, ‘One in a Million’ Remix/ Mashup by @bryandivisions
https://steemit.com/dtube/@bryandivisions/2gcnsasv another DOPE performance. But, at this time I had already jumped the gun and claimed the winner of the contest. Plus the cutoff date had already passed or AT LEAST I THOUGHT IT DID. Yep, that’s right, I failed to pay attention to my own cutoff date to the contest I was running!!

Lol Long story short I had apologize to @bryandivisions for my mishaps and then rewarded him for his contribution as well. Still very much a minnow myself, that double payout did make a dent in my wallet. Yet I TRY to keep to my word. That was a lesson well spent one can say.

By-the-way...
@jamesgetsit later had to school me on how to write and count 16 bars after I posted in his KillThePad Challenge lol I still can't believe he said I must have an alien tongue to rhyme the way I did in my post
https://steemit.com/killthepad/@the21plus/b-u-l-l-y-i-n-g-releasing-writer-s-block

The music communities here on Steemit is where I had spent most of my time on this platform. I have met many wonderful and talented individuals. A lot more like minded individuals at that. Which is a great plus. Seems to be a little of something for everyone.

So, what happened?

I remember when I was a lot more active on here, and reading post from other authors apologizing for taking their long extended break from posting. Many were just letting everyone (their followers) know that they were ok. Even myself, although I have fallen out of routine of posting/commenting everyday, when talking about sharing via social media, STEEMIT always seem the most reasonable platform to share on. But again, what allow so many individuals to become so distracted with life that sharing content with their social media following is ignited with passion one moment and then dry as dust the next? And I remember hearing consistency is key to having a successful more pleasurable experience. Yet, how do one keep the creative fuel running? What are things that work for you? Feel free to share your gems in the comment section and hopefully together we can keep this steam train going on and on.

Until we speak again, smile another mile Ms. Ci

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem, @the21plus!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3186 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

Look I know you all don't like oldies using the introduceyourself hashtag, but I honestly tried to remove it already. I didn't even add it at the bottom in the TAG section. So I'm apologizing in advance.

Welcome to Steemit the21plus. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Hey the21plus! If you would like to see what the current trending content and topics on the internet are consider following @coffeebreak and @topicstoday accounts to make your personal feed more fun and informative.

Congratulations @the21plus! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome to Steem Community @the21plus! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch