You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Behold, the Biggest TV Show of the Year! It's a Brave New A.I World

in #life8 years ago

I'm looking forward to seeing this in the UK. I remember the cheesy 70s movie version of the Michael Crichton novel.

In many ways it had a lot of parallels to Jurassic Park. Many people even said that Jurassic Park was based on Westworld.

I think a TV series like this allows much greater exploration of the Blade Runner like ethics and moral drama of having artificial humans that exist solely for the pleasure of "real" humans.

I hope I can watch it in the UK though because Sky who usually show HBO stuff have a tendency to restrict HBO shows to their own Satellite Service only - by broadcasting it on a Satellite only channel called Sky Atlantic.

That is the problem with having monopolies - for multichannel TV in the UK there is one satellite provider (Sky TV) and one cable provider (Virgin Media).

Sky deliberately only allow certain channels on their rivals services to try to get people to switch over to their satellite service.

I might end up needing to buy the episodes on Itunes.

Sort:  

@thecryptofiend I think Sky is gonna show West World, it's just gonna be every Tuesday instead of every Sunday.

Thanks. I hope they show it on one of the general Sky channels rather than the Sky Atlantic otherwise I can't watch it.