Let your Fears Fall : My Aguinid Encounter

in #life6 years ago

Hi, Steemians!

What is your biggest Fear? What was the most frightening experience you've had? Have you overcome any of your fears?

These are the three questions that come to my mind every time I remembered my experience when our family had an adventure in AGUINID FALLS. this waterfalls gave me a tingling rush of adrenaline. It’s like hiking a mountain but instead of the usual forested trail, you will encounter gushing water as another obstacle which is essentially a factor to spice things up. In Aguinid Falls requires overcoming gushing water while making use of the limestone rocks to pull yourself up to the next level until you get to the topmost level of the falls. Each level is a challenge and the intensity of each gradually increases as you come nearer to the top.

Aguinid Falls is in the quiet municipality of Samboan, which is 150 kilometers away from Cebu City, is one of these natural wonders.it is unique because it is not a single waterfall. Rather it is a system of waterfalls that run for a couple of kilometers along Tangbo River.

These waterfalls are in 8 levels but our family tried only until Level 5 since its slippery and for our own safety as well. Personally, I know I cant make it to the top since I have a fear of heights (ACROPHOBIA)and lack of confidence in a situation like this. Every time I am on the top floor of a tall building, or above the mountain, I felt a sense of panic and I can't trust my sense of balance. My knees are shaking and I felt dizziness and nausea. but this time it's different, my family challenged me to FACE my fears and to CONQUER IT !.

These are the pictures of the waterfalls from Level 1 to Level 5 and My experience in every level.

Level 1

In this level, I felt the adventure very easy since its just walking along the path going to the falls and river crossing.

Level 2

This level gave me a surprise, its unexpected torture for me, the struggle is real here. We need to climb our way through a 90-degree rock that stretches to about 10 meters. Our only point of support is to pull ourselves up was the rope tied on top and at the bottom of the rock. I cried and shouted a lot at this level because of being fear but I made it after almost an hour. lol!

Level 3

After being tortured, I was brought beautifully carved pieces and the rock formation stone are magnificent.

Level 4

The water is pristine and cold. It was like another heavenly place I wouldn’t trade with anything else.

Level 5

And lastly, I reached Level 5 the Stunner of the day, going there is not easy also since we need to pass through the gape between two (2) limestone rocks while trying really hard to keep our balance and avoid tripping.

The adventure did not stop here, the challenged is not yet done.After we went to, Kawasan Falls in Badian Cebu

Kawasan Falls Badian Cebu

the most popular falls in Cebu has fresh, clean and really bluish water. It's one of the most beautiful natural wonders in Cebu. The waterfalls have three challenging levels. but since in the morning, we went to Aguinid falls, we don't have much energy to climb the falls, especially me, my whole body is sore and aching. so we only stayed in the first level

The lowest level of the falls is where most tourist/people go as there is a bamboo raft (300 Php) that can be rented to pass over the falls.

The trip tested my endurance and capacity to cope up my fear. At first, it was not easy, since I experienced '' Panic Attack '' intense fear and physical discomfort. I had palpitation, sweating, dizziness or unsteadiness. But because of my determination and with the support of my family through relaxation techniques like diverting my attention to other things, listening music while walking and talking positively with my family. and They did counterconditioning approach since I had Hyperventilation to help me exert voluntary control over hyperventilation. I'm so happy I finished the challenge successfully and safely. It helps me to gain more confidence in myself and gave me a new version of myself!

I would like to express my gratitude and appreciation to @surpassinggoggle, @bayanihan and @steemph.cebu for their tremendous support to all Steemians. and giving us the motivation to improve more on making quality content, and for believing in our talents and skills.

Best regards,
@thefairlady

Points to Remember

Fear - refers to an innate, almost biologically based alarm response to a dangerous or life-threatening situation.
Anxiety - is more future-oriented and global, referring to the state in which an individual is inordinately apprehensive, tense and uneasy about the prospect of something terrible happening.

Features of Panic Attack

  • palpitation, pounding heart or Increase heart rate
  • sweating
  • trembling or shaking
  • chest pain
  • nausea
  • chills or hot flushes
  • a sensation of tingling or numbness

How to Overcome Fear

  1. Face your Fears

  2. Breath through Panic

  3. Visualize a Happy Place

  4. Control your Imagination

  5. Use the AWARE Technique

    A - accept the anxiety
    W - watch the anxiety
    A - act normally
    R - repeat the above steps in your mind if necessary
    E - expect the best

Thank you for reading Steemians ...... until next time... Salamat ka.ayo <3

Kindly write the scary thing you want to do, and the fear that's keeping you from doing it:

I want _____________________________, but I'm afraid_________________________.

I am excited to hear your thoughts just comment down below...

Sort:  

upvoted and followed u @thefairlady

thank you @steeman220 I follwed you back . let's keep in touch ;) . keep on steeming :)

sureness...you can count me in :D

I don't know how to swim ate @thefairlady thats my biggest fear to risk in going to islands ..hehe

hello @micch .. i miss you <3 We are same, I don't know how to swim also. but if Im with my family I feel safe ;)

I miss you too ate =) i read your story about your experience sa lovelife mu.. nakatuok manjud ko ate =( but great your okay now.. (i hope so)..

awesome! thank you for the tips. seems you had fun and acted upon your fear, i cant swim but i want to experience it too!

Hello! @orhem. I can't swim either.. but I'll try m best to Learn that skills. take care ;)

What a way to welcome summer. 😃

thank you @trishy .. yes ! almost summer ... let's keep in touch <3