You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I'm Quitting Swearing

in #life6 years ago

My own personal theory about "swear words" is that they were cultivated by a ruling class of days gone by to get used to being told off at a very early age and therefore accepting of authority and rules. Which in turn prepares us for school, work, over-zealous security guards at museums etc.

My first memory of being told off is when I started to copy the fun sounding words that grown ups used and I imagine that is probably the same for a lot of people.

If you think about it, having words you can't say is pretty ridiculous - why invent them in the first place?

Sort:  

Its not really that ridiculous to have words that are reserved for aggression or to describe something extremely dramatic. Saying someone is grumpy paints a very different picture than saying someone is a bitch. I think both are valid words - but if people said bitch all the time - it would take on the same meaning as grumpy... Words are arbitrary - the meaning they convey is not.