Above spaces - Ecclesiastical Geometry- Canopies

in #life7 years ago

This is my second post focussing on the above in architectural space. I have been collecting ceilings for years. I have an archive of photographs that I have taken and will order them into a post depending on when I feel a bit of above space is needed.

Stumbling is best word I can use to described how I seem to be engaging with Steemit. I stumbled across a post about some one today and realised they were one of my first followers. I now know they follow lots and lots of people, but an early follow even in my minor league of number of followers is still a nice thing. So this is sort of for them as a thank you as it might be something they enjoy although I wonder if these spaces are contrary to the principals of there type of anarchy.

So.. to some Ecclesiastical geometry - I am not a religious person but spent a lot of time in church and cathedral because I enjoy the spaces and really love the ceilings. The engineering, the commitment to the creation, the details and imagination is wonderful. These are not big statement photographs these are details of above spaces that I really enjoyed. All these are from a recent re-visted to Ely Cathedral in the UK..

20170426_151228.jpg

20170426_150723.jpg

Cherubs in the corners

20170426_150706.jpg

20170426_151804.jpg

@joanaltres hear to all your wonderful followings and now I have challenge to find an anarchic above space.

Sort:  

This is... well it's this kind of stuff that got me drawing in the first place. I find the story hidden in architecture irresistible. Cherubim are "guardians of buried treasure". Floating above, locked in the order of geometry. It's interesting how anarchy seems to oppose the principles of order, but the two have a cyclical relationship; order arising from anarchy, and order descending into anarchy.

I really like the idea of being locked into the order of geometry. Everything has order even anarchy. I wonder how much architects consider the story hidden in spaces.. Those are some lovely things to muse on thank you for your response.