A year Later.... And We're Off.- " Let's Agree to Disagree, For the sake of Understanding".

in #life6 years ago (edited)

11 months ago I embarked on my very first steemit post. Excited for a new decentralized platform, with intention to begin an open forum for flow of thought and dialogue on certain issues both important and not. A place to gather and create discourse for the sake of understanding one another without fear of being dragged into today's modern bullshit PC debauchery.

Skip to present...

Don't you love it when you wander across old life memorabilia and creations specific to you. You could hate some too I suppose. Point being, when you find old shit that you did in what-seems-to-be-a-whole-different-previous-lifetime- it's like Bam! That split second upon discovery slams your mind back in time. A research paper from undergrad, a love-letter from prepubescent peaks and valley's, a baseball glove, a hairbrush, a blog from 11 months ago, a fucking drawing of a dinosaur, kinda more a pickle with bird legs but still, if you can relate, you are already with me. When we happen to stumble across these things, most of the time it's random as hell or you had been looking or thinking about it months prior. Mostly though, it's random fuckery.

I always find these moments somewhat euphoric, exhilarating and simultaneously self-reflective. It seems that I can slip into the moment to enjoy it for whatever it is or was (or wasn't) that is still consciously awake in my memory. Present, as if I am still the participant just in a different form, glancing through a slightly different lens. Then SNaP! Back into "reality" of the current moment and there is a period of reflecting upon myself between the self-memory state experienced to the actual current self experience. The now. I have a buzz through my collective conscious on what that memory in time served me. How did it influence me in the current? Or did it? And usually I find a subtle common ground and it all comes together for that brief moment, and I try to be thankful for the entire experience even if it brings pain. Thus being euphoric and self-reflective when random, weird, and unprovoked anomaly type shit like that occurs.

The mind is our most powerful utility as humans. We have the ability to really tap into certain realms of depth that I believe the term " out of body experience" prevails from. Being open and in tune with our mind, thoughts, and how we feel is key to a buncha weird and cool shit during our short and brief experience on earth.

Do you ever have those random " sha-banG-whoA-fuck" moments, and if so how spot on or completely opposite is your reaction than mine?

Again, the brain and mind is amazing and has so many varieties of reaction. It is what makes us who were are. I encourage you (..if you haven't already) to let the energy flow through you entirely and have some time to practice being self-reflective and aware of the sheer connection with your body, mind, the universe an all the energy she encompasses within. I am learning, and growing, and breathing and evolving daily. Which I will drop in tidbits to help encourage my voice of reason via experiences and reflection. I'm just like you. I accept I know absolutely nothing. But I am curious as shit to continue to look, observe, and analyze my experiences throughout my journey. Whether they are first hand or I am taking bits an pieces from around me, it's all about accumulation.

"The Energy of the Mind is the Essence of Life."
-Aristotle

Thus, bringing me back in full circle ( bet you didn't think that would happen) to the initial blog post I wrote almost a year ago.

I am sure everyone who reads this will agree when I say, " Shit Happens...It's Life." We all have a set plan or agenda forecasted in our brain banks that hardly ever comes to fruition exactly as we planned, if at all. This venture being one of those for me. I kept thinking about creating some content for opinions and discussion over the past weeks, hell even months at this point. Things would pop in my head and I'd get some motivation to elaborate, but wouldn't fulfill it. I knew I created this account and searching, quitting, searching, and finding the damn private keys, I finally logged on red-eyed and about to fall asleep after a tumultuous day in the Cryptosphere.

Then I saw " ...I am the Realist..." thinking what the f....and !BaM! ..and I was hit with that quick aforementioned jolt-like feeling. A sudden wave of exhilaration and surprise ran through me as I began to read further. It came back to me and I began to remember writing it. I smiled as I found myself back in the present towards the end of the piece. "Kickass Kid" is the reaction I first felt, albeit was only about a year ago, but I feel it was as on point to this day of what I am about, and trying to achieve.

Discussion is about open doors, respect, commonalities, indifferences, acknowledgment, understanding. Disagreement is a part of discussion. For discussion to be productive, it usually does so in finding agreements within those disagreements. This is known as understanding. So in order for there to be a positive outcome, we generally must first go through the area of disagreement and indifference to therefore understand where each individual is coming from (and why).

What determines a positive outcome of a discussion isn't the means of achieving one level of the spectrum over another. The means of productivity are directly correlated with the level of accumulated understanding through varying degrees of agreement and disagreement within.

We are all aware of how far off simple discourse has gone these days. It is like we have as humans have been set completely off the tracks or for better terms "re-programmed" to lack a common ability to critically and analytically think, communicate, associate, question and ultimately understand one another.

That is the over arching goal throughout this digital penmanship journey. Not only to create content over opinion, enlightenment, and interest topics at hand, but to create a spectrum of that described. Somewhere where disagreeing is not only allowed but highly encouraged, so that agreement and understanding can fall into place as well. A part of actual discussion with intent on productivity is accountability. Each participant within has to be accountable for their own ego and emotional structure. A lot of the times, because we are human (and have been programmed to a degree) we are partial to let the ego dictate the course of discussion. That is especially true once disagreement occurs. We have a way of succumbing to the emotional response, which then sparks a chain reaction to the Ego, the Id, and the Super Ego as well. This all directly interferes with the ability for disagreements to be understood and productive measures of discussion thereafter to occur. That is why Accountability by each willing participant is important, and that is why you will hear people say," leave your feelings at the front door." Because naturally when someone doesn't agree with something you hold to be truth, your internal emotions and nervous system responds a certain way. Somewhat comparable to a defense mechanism in our predisposed fight or flight mentality. Here we invite those illicit responses; with the intention to harbor and control any emotional dictatorial influences that arise so that discourse and discussion can continue. Ultimately with the goal of higher understanding to occur.

I am sure I will post pieces that are unwaveringly biased to my own emotional appeal and interest at times. I am human just as you are, but I will do so with whatever ground I stand upon transparent and open for disagreement.

So without further ado, let's agree to disagree on some shit.

Yours Truly,

  • therealist
Sort:  

Hello and welcome to steemit.

Hi, therealist! Best wishes for a very fun journey here in this loving and caring community :) May the force be with you ;)

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Congratulations @therealist! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!