You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Important is Touch, Really?

in #life7 years ago

How easily we can forget that one simple act of touch can bring healing and joy to someone else. My dog is a certified visiting dog, which means we go to (or used to go to before the kids came along these past two years) nursing homes to visit the residents. How the residents' eyes would light up when they would pet him or I would simply touch their hand. I miss doing that for them, and would love to get back to doing it once more. Your post reminded me how needed it is!

Sort:  

Awe, I can just picture their faces, what a special thing to do :)

Sounds like that's something that needs to be done. PS I've heard that children are treasured rarities at nursing homes, too ;)

I used to take the little guy when it was just the two of us and they loved him (although the activities director at the nursing home did not like him coming). But the baby girl came alon and she was a preemie so we had to put our visits on pause. I couldn't risk having her catch anything. So I will have to figure something out so I can start that up again!

Oh I would simply adore if you could get some photos, too :)

I will try to do that! I'm not allowed to take pictures of the residents but I can of my dog :-). He doesn't care! Ha!

lol! That kinda sucks, tho. If it could be advertised and shared I am positive that after seeing what it does for the residents more people would apply to do such things

Not only does your dog not care, I'm sure relishes the attention!

I'm part of a group in our area called Pet Pals. It's a group that trains their volunteers in animal assisted therapy. The animals have to go through a temperament and behavior screening and then pass a vet physical as well. It's actually a pretty large group where I live! It's pretty neat. But, yes, allowing other people to glimpse the good that it does could definitely help!

Oh that is so amazing. Here we just have a few random volunteers, I'm sure there are organizations but not large enough to have appeared on my radar.