Soaring high when times get tough

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Have you simply ever met people whom simply thrive in when things get tough?


I honestly do not know how some people are able to handle certain stressful situations. One example was my flight from Buenos Aires to Santiago was delayed for some reason - we were never told why, which caused myself and at least 15 other passengers to miss our connecting flight to Australia and NZ. This did cause quite a few stressful passengers to loudly voice their displeasure with the situation. The people they lashed out on were the only people whom a)were just trying to help; & b) were not at fault for the situation in the first place. My hat went off to these people, as they were just bombarded with frustrated and disappointed people who directed their negative energy towards them.

It reminded me of the Albatross ~ they seem to be nothing but confident within their ability to handle huge winds and high seas on the Drake Passage. The customer service agents of the airline were simply that ~ calm and accepting of the situation whilst being confident enough to know they can get done what needed to be done for all of the frustrated passengers.


What tricks or techniques do you have to deal with stressful situations?
Are you able to remain calm and clear headed when situations become fast-paced suddenly?

IMG_6697.jpg
A juvenile wandering Albatross.


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Sort:  

I have met a few people in my life who have taught me (subconsciously) how to keep a cool head in high stress situations. I've been in the shoes of both sides.
I've witnessed people losing their cool on poor employees, and I have also been that same employee getting yelled at by customers when something goes awry, even if it's not the employee's fault. Trust me it's not fun being on the receiving end of that..
So kudos to you @thomasjmitchell for not being one of the people "flipping out" on the employee who was just trying to do their job.

Good post and good questions. I always remind myself that although that moment it may seem bad it will all pass in a short time and the thing that will most likely make it last longer is my hanging on to the issue. Whenever I mess a flight or it is delayed and causes me to miss another flight I always say that God did not want me on that flight. I might have been that extra weight that caused the crash and that is why I was not allowed on it. The key is to turn it into a positive in some way so you do not develop stress. There is a statistic I always keep in mind. When you worry about something, there is only a 16% chance of that happening and out of that 16% you only had a chance of affecting it half the time meaning you are getting upset over something you only had an 8% chance to change. So if you are late and missed a flight or if the flight you are on is delayed and you miss your connecting flight, you cannot impact what happened, but you can control your attitude which controls your stress levels. Thanks.

thanks for the helpful comment! Greatly appreciated - the one thing we can only control is our attitude or reaction to something that is out of our control

At a very fundamental level, pay attention to your breath and your heart rate. Beyond that, you have to mentally tell yourself that whatever is causing distress is insignificant in the grand scheme of it all, so behave accordingly and like my grandpa always used to say, stay on the lighter side!

great advice - I find myself stopping and counting to 10 whilst taking a heap of deep breaths when things become a bit too much

Love how you compared customer service people with Albatross. Sometimes I wonder as well that how do they manage to be so calm when there is nothing but chaos around. Thank you for the interesting read.

It was the best way I could find to relate it - customer service people sometimes deal with some terrible human beings. kudos to them

very nice. I like all of your stuff because your content type is very educational

Bagai mana untuk bisa memberikan gambar yg jelas untuk sebuah fhoto, mohon saran mr

Anything we do in life, we have need of patient, even when we are being delayed is for a reason that save can our life.
Thanks for sharing your experience.