My father, this Exceptional man : General Nguyen Huy Anh. First chapter : The Slap

in #life6 years ago (edited)

ScreenShot027.jpg

My father, this hero. General NGUYEN HUY ANH was an example of nobility, bravery, moral integrity for the South Vietnamese air force and, taken away at the age of 39, remains today a legend in the heart of veterans of this cruel war. Here is his story... and to relate it, I chose to borrow the voices of those close to him.

¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤

At the very beginning of his youth, the first chapter, here is my mother's voice:

mm2.jpg

  1. Southern Viet Nam, in the Mekong Delta, Can Tho.

Our country is under the French colonization since, what seems to me, always... anyway, since I was born. At 15, I am rebellious and fiercely chauvinistic.
My mother divorced our Vietnamese father to marry a "high nose", as we call the French. His blue eyes have always cast on my sister and me a disdainful and cold look, which reinforces my animosity for these strangers coming from elsewhere, behaving like Masters wherever they go.

gd.jpg
my mother, me, my brother in law and the new french husband of my mother

Revolted and animated by a male energy, quite far from what a young Vietnamese girl should be, meaning sweet and discreet, I am quite the opposite: Bellicose and reckless, I am a disaster for any marriage matchmaker, hopefully for me.

mm1.jpg

So I am allowed to take my time and "ripen" some more years, hopping that time would bring the required qualities for me to be a good spouse : Thus, my adolescence was very free. In secret, I adhere to a revolutionary anti-colonialist movement, made up of a group of young people with utopian and nationalist ideas. That's how I started learning Kung Fu within this "rebel" group.
In this area of Viet Nam, the Wu Dang lineage has long since taken root, so it was through this discipline that I started my life as a martial arts practitioner.
Our teacher (Si Fu), having too many students, delegates the beginner's lessons to his disciple, whom we commonly call "Big Brother". So our big brother is named ANH, which means "light". Which is also my first name.

The first time I saw Big Brother Anh, something confused took life in my heart: A great admiration blend with a feeling of rivalry, a frightening and unknown attraction, an unconfessable tenderness. At 15, I fell in love without even knowing what it could mean.

Far from admitting it, I put this strange new feeling on the fact of my admiration for his martial talents.

pp01.jpg

This handsome young man of 20 is made of passion and flames, contained in a serious and reserved figure. He is extraordinarily skillful and incredibly swift ... In combat, he leaps like a tiger, jumps like a monkey, shirks like a snake and his eagle eyes miss no opportunity.
Watching his training was for me, as for the other students, a source of wonder and it's open-mouthed that we admire him in free combat with Si Fu. His favorite style was the Kung Fu of the drunken man ... which often made us laugh out loud and flourishes our youth, which was flowing along with the Mekong's yellow water.

drunkenkungfu_1285429620882.jpg
drunken man kung fu, source blog asiantown

One day on my 17, a contest was launched: Anyone who could touch the face of Big Brother Anh would be the new disciple of Si Fu. Free fight, free style.
Not intimidated, I signed in.
Realizing that my two poor years of practice did not weigh much against such an experienced opponent, I had to be cunning. Our training place was actually a big outdoor sand court.

We were ten to challenge and being the least experienced and the youngest, I was listed last. The former candidates failed to succeed the challenge, Big Brother Anh was far too fast and agile to let anyone touch his face. On the contrary, every each student found himself on the floor, unable to move under an arm or leg key. My turn arrived, greeted with a few giggles of laughter.

Big Brother Anh stared at me condescendingly, which made me grind my teeth ... He stood two meters away from me, not even in defense stance, just with his hands crossed behind his back, relax. This overly arrogant attitude insulted me and it was frowning that I rushed towards him, jabbing my fist towards his belly and, at the last minute, I squatted completely to finally give him a sweeping kick down, aiming at the ankles ...

My punch was only a lure. But can't teach the old monkey to grimace and he was waiting for my kick, not surprised at all. He had only to leap in the air with a rotational movement and let himself land behind me. He gave me a little tap on the skull, smiling mockingly.
It was there that I waited for him: me, crouching cross-legged on the ground with him, standing just behind. It was not difficult to grab a handful of sand discreetly... I turned face swiveling on my legs which throw me like a spiral spring and like a jack out of his box, I stand all my height to finish my movement studied from the beginning: throw the sand in his eyes. Surprised and blinded, he did not have the time to see my incoming hand: Paff! slap on the left cheek!

Hands_Sand_478822_2560x1440.jpg
source sand hand 1zoome

A burst of applause came to rejoice this victory of mine and it is at this precise moment, seeing Big Brother Anh holding his cheek sheepishly that I realized that I was madly in love. I quickly went to fetch some rainwater to wash his eyes ... the blushed glance he gave me was full of surprise, amusement and ... tenderness. This is how our story began.

mm.jpg
me, at 17

To be followed.....

Sort:  

An amazingly fascinating new series @tiloupsa.
You had me captivated from beginning to end!
You have my full upvote😊 Can hardly wait for the next episode.

sooooo grateful to you, dearest ! I'm working on it...

I am very pleased to know yoir family background your legend father many respect for him.He is alive in people heart.Many respect for your mother and your whole family member.This is the best blog of my readed of this day

THANK YOU ! your words are warming my heart, dear steamer... I'm visiting your blog right now.

now i am writing 2nd part .It is about carbohydrate and lipid

I sure will read it ! keep it up !

I am hooked! Wow I honestly cannot wait for this to continue! Your mom is a gorgeous Kung Fu fighter straight out of a movie script! I really, really enjoyed the ultimate "slap" combat scene. Great job with the writing there, it was thrilling and surprising and I felt like joining in with the brief applause :)

Much love - Carl "Totally Not A Bot" Gnash / @carlgnash



Click the badge to learn more about
Human Certified Original Works

Hey Carl !! Sooo happy to find you here... how sweet of you to leave such a nice comment : I AM writing the next... thank you for your encouragement, dear friend !

Hi @tiloupsa

This is a great series opener - I like how you are telling the story from the eyes and words of others.

Thank you for sharing with us 😊

thank you ABH ! this is an encouragement ! I sure will keep on writing for you all...

Wow this is an amazing tale. Can’t wait to see he next chapter .

hey Rob ! How glad I am to find YOU in my post ! sure I will write the next chapter... my father worths it... thank you for dropping by, dear wonderful photographer !

successful and happy family ...

thank you Kety for passing by !

How brave were you and your family, due to the invasion of the French and the Americans!
I salute your determination and your fights.
What a beautiful love story that your meeting with kung fu 😉

hello Archeothot ! thank you for you comment ! I have forgotten to include in the end of the text the historical facts but on the next chapter, it will show up. I'm visiting you blog...

I can not wait to see more!
I am very interested in history 😊

no doubt on that... Aren't you ARCHEO... thot ? ;-)

Yes, the history of all countries interests me, we were taught at school in France a totally wrong history of the world, advocating Westernism and capitalism.
The memory of the tribes, peoples forgotten or abandoned to foreign powers, must refind all their true value in my eyes.

sorry... may be we will never recover the Truth. Look : when two people witness an incident, for example, when interviewed, the two people will relate THEIR view which might be different. So, when the story is related, it is related with our feelings... And feelings are so changing. Unless you were here yourself when the incident occured, you will never know what really really happened. History taught in school is all wrong, only remains true the date on which history relies and only the facts. But the facts are not lived the same way for everyone and HOW they occured might be completely different from different feelings, point of view and understandings.

Nice post

thank you ahmadin ! I'm visiting you blog...

You are welcome
Thanks also for visiting my blog

I enjoyed your post so much. Reading it feeling to me like watching an old classic Kung-Fu movie. Yet it is a true story. Exciting!

hahaha ! your imagination IS the movie... Thank you for passing by, dear artist !

Beautyfull pic. Your father was a Dragonfly pilot T-37 great

YES dear Lieutenant Colonel ! A dragonfly is behind him... Now, I'm a kind of busy with a Diploma I have to pass, but soon, I'll write again on my father and his wonderful destiny. yesterday, I've met a Lieutenant Colonel under his command on 1971 and he told me that he could die for my Dad... That confort me in the idea that my Dad deserves someone write about him. I'll let you know once a new post si lauch !

Great. I am gonna wait your new post, thanks a lot