You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Earthships & Self-sufficiency. Journey of Discovery Part IV: Present & Future Visions (ecoTrain)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This is very inspiring. You have accomplished much. I've been working on my passive income for a while and wow it's been great!

I live in Santa Cruz and at the moment helping care for my elderly mother. She took care of me so I feel this is the least I can do. This puts me next door. While I will likely never be able to afford land in this area, I do have access to land, 17 acres my sister lives on. I've brought up someday wanting to build an earthship and they are open to it. There biggest concern is getting permits to build. This can be an exasperating long process in this county. I wondering if anyone else has had to deal with this or were their exemptions for building a sustainable Earthship? I'm going to find out and if there are none I may have to fight to get some put in place!

Sort:  

Thanks @tim-rumford. Have you seen the original architect, Mike Reynolds documentary Garbage Worrior? I can recommend it as great example and inspiration for how to get permission for an Earthship to be built.