Four digits

in #life6 years ago

It's funny how we sometimes let ourselves be dictated by tools, only designed to help ups, not to control us.

Why do I feel like I'm doing something wrong when I look at the clock, see four numbers (22.04, slowly turning to 22.47, then 23.20) and immediately judge myself.

[context: I still have to make dinner for myself tonight. This is something that used to happen quite frequently during my transition. I didn't mind/care at that time. It was someting that worked. Somehow eating late, really late, just felt better/made more sense, I don't know. I got a loooot of critisism/questions at that time "oh, that's weird", "OMG, that is really late", "what??!", that made me really struggle with just accepting my rhythm.]

Tonight it's confronting me again:
I'm not taking good care of myself (because if I would eat at normal times, I obviously would be taking care of myself).
I'm not normal (but hey, I already concluded this a few years ago, so nothing new there)
I'm not healthy. Because normal healthy people obviously always eat at normal/regular times....

OMG that's so boring. [not to judge people here that do eat at normal/regular times, everybody needs to do what works for them. For me, it would be boring, I need to break the/my patterns. Wow, that's a new/old insight!]

Ok, writing this helps.
I know what works for me. For me, taking care of myself means letting me follow my own movements.
Sometimes that means doing stuff that looks unhealthy, or like not taking care of myself. But actually I'm just giving myself time and space to be, to move, to feel, to explore......

I want to learn to trust that feeling more.
Trust myself and my movements.

I am taking care of myself <3

play: Gidge - Growth

Sort:  

So true. People often want to emphasize we are all the same, but we are not. We all have our own rhythm. We all should have the freedom to follow that rhuthm. Sounds very unhealthy to do things that may seem the common thing to do, while at the same time they contradict with your own rhythm.

There is nothing wrong with going with the flow of the moment.

one small tip, add a link to the source of the image, not just Google images, but the website it is from. Unless of course it is a picture you took yourself. In that case name the camera/phone used.

Congratulations @timtonic! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!