Birthing, Crafting, and Brain Cells

in #life6 years ago

Or The Story Of Dino-Horse

Soon after the birth of my first child (which, by the way, was a mildly horrific home birth, which I will leave to another blog) I had a creative burst. I was still very much healing and very much on bed rest, but my hands were itching to create. I dug through my fabric bin and decided to make a small toy for the new tiny human in the house.

You have surely heard the old wives tale that pregnant women use 90% of their brain cells growing a baby a which results in "pregnancy brain", aka flakey-ding-dong moves on the daily. And any woman who has been pregnant can tell you- yes, pregnancy brain is real and...it never really goes away.

So there I was, happily crafting with a sleeping newborn next to me. I had decided on a little plush horse. I hand sewed the body and added a beautiful tail of yarn. And then, of course to finish it off, I began adding the row of spiked plates jutting down its neck and back. To the horse. Not a horse mane, but instead, spikes.

I did not even begin to think that something was not right with this creature. This was what horses looked like. To me. At that moment.

So there I was, happily crafting with a sleeping newborn next to me. I had decided on a little plush horse. I hand sewed the body and added a beautiful tail of yarn. And then, of course to finish it off, I began adding the row of spiked plates jutting down its neck and back. To the horse. Not a horse mane, but instead, spikes.

I did eventually realize my mistake and was absolutely dumbfounded by my own brain.

We still have dino-horse 6 years later.

Sort:  

I love it! Makes us all feel better to know we aren't alone in our mistakes...but look at the great keepsake you made. I bet your little one loves it. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you! Yes I still have a good laugh when I see this guy kicking around the house. Mistakes make the world go around :)