Corporate America Is Killing Me | A Blog |

in #life6 years ago (edited)

| How To Survive As A Creative, In A Cube |

monselfiefuckyou.png

I am so annoyed today. I spent my entire morning dealing with the type of bureaucratic drama only corporate offices can produce. All those annoying terms yelled into cellphones at airports have applied to my morning. Proactive Implementation, being "thrown under the bus", Resource Allocation UGHHHHHH. (brain explodes)

I've been working corporate office jobs for about 17 years. Long enough that I just write "10+ Years Experience" on my resume. I'm a middle manager, I get paid well, and I hate it.

I often sit in meetings daydreaming about freaking out in front of everyone, ripping open my dress shirt and jumping up on the conference room table to have a screaming fit. I think about how satisfying it would be to let the weird out in such a ... clean environment.

In the real world, in my world, I am a passionately creative person. I have tattoos and piercings, I listen to loud hard music, and I don't give a fuck about other peoples opinions. But in their world, the world that pays me, I am a middle manager in a dress shirt, here to fix things and take the work that no one else wants. Its a painful juxtaposition.

Over the past 2 years I have been manically working on creative side hustles, knowing that one day I will take the leap and leave their world of boxed in bullshit!

So that's how I survive. I plan and I create. And... I take 40mgs of Prozac a day. That helps.

Toni Craft - Headshot - Teneisha Jones.jpg

If you enjoyed please upvote + If you feel the same please resteem + If you want to see more of my face, please follow! <3 <3 <3