Fraudulent Holiday Celebrations | Blog |

in #life6 years ago

Making Our Own Traditions

We are not a religious family, so Easter always feels a bit like a fraud. My kids are the perfect age to believe in things like the Easter Bunny, Tooth Fairy and Santa Clause...so I compromise. We do the egg hunt, minimal baskets, and mostly make the day about creative Easter crafts that we can work on as a family.

Last year we collected flowers and leaves, vegetables and spices, and made natural dyes. We wrapped out eggs in stems and grass and leaves and fastened off with rubber bands before dying.

The finished product was gorgeous.

10256579_797062658300_6072535025787307746_n.jpg

If you are celebrating a Holiday this weekend I hope you have a wonderful time!

Sort:  

My gosh! those are beautiful earth colors. And I love the wooden box. Would make a great gift. Send out by amazon. Hard boiled eggs will survive the shipping, too!

Do people buy eggs via the internet?! Maybe you are on to something :)

I remember a Mexican tradition where small holes are made in a raw egg at one or both ends, maybe, and the contents sucked out. Then the painted egg is filled with confetti, piece by piece. The eggs never spoil, and you can have an egg fight!

Yes! I was actually just thinking about doing that recently! I think the most recent version of that tradition is putting confetti inside!

I think Amazon delivers groceries now!