What is your motivation?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Lately I've seen many embittered and sad persons say things like "Why am I not getting upvotes for my well-written posts that took me hours to research and construct?". Believe me you. You've seen people make loads of money from their daily posts yeah? Many times the posts aren't even worth it, either it is not well written or it's not qualitative enough. But the road doesn't end there. Let me tell us something...

This renowned success didn't come as a result of chance or luck, it's as a result of hard-work, the influence they have on the community and the effort they have equally put for the betterment of the community. Some of them may have encountered this success by luck or favor, but majority of these people got theirs through constant dedication to the community. In other to reach the apex here on this community, it's best to be persistent and consistent, knowing the happenings around the blockchain rather than looking for upvotes. If the sole reason why you came to this community was for the sake of money, then you can keep reading this post...

I'll quickly examine the two kinds of motivation we have, they are outer and inner motivation.

OUTER MOTIVATION


Outer motivation means motivation that comes from outside, just like a reward for doing something. (money etc.), doing everything possible to stay out of punishment, survival . When you have outer motivation, whatever you are doing, you're not doing it just for doing it but it's seen as a means of survival, something you'll wanna dig deep into. If this same spirit can be applied here, you won't be here on steemit for the sole aim of wanting to make money but to strive to give quality content and be like most successful individuals on here.

INNER MOTIVATION


Inner motivation is the direct opposite of outer motivation. Inner motivation, means that you get reward from doing a thing, be it a task, project or something else. The spirit of motivation comes from the inside and the burning desire to succeed, passion, value and interest. Inner motivation is the driving force that increases our well-being and ability to discharge our duties in order to succeed.

CONCLUSION

There's a thin line between the two kinds of motivation mentioned above. In order to strive to be better and successful, we need inner motivation more than we need outer motivation. Most individuals have them both, which really isn't a bad thing. It is inner motivation that'll make a user keep writing and persisting even though his post isn't yielding the required or expected outcome.

Thanks for reading...

Until next time, I remain @osigbhemeh

https://ipfs.busy.org/ipfs/QmdJQUxYQXqkFZ2hbHvzWMiF15rd2p1yiTMz4VSsQinL6z Disclaimer:

This is a community blogging initiative. The responsibility for the content lies solely on the author. Tpot neither endorse nor is responsible for any outcome that the content may lead to.

pourin.png

Sort:  

@tpot mostly people like newbies as myself are always introduced into this platform with the money-making mindset. I use to have the same mindset and nearly gave up on this community but trust me, I realized is not just about money making but learning from professionals, colleagues and the like. The upvotes are just an outer motivation as u mentioned.

I agree.... Inner motivation will keep you intact on the path of success.

That's what makes us going. Tx

"Why am I not getting upvotes for my well-written posts that took me hours to research and construct?"

I started out doing those long posts and soon realized is was not worth my effort as a small fish here. Now instead I:

  • post 2-4 times a day - most of those are short posts - a few a week are longer and take more time. I break long posts up when I can.
  • post many contest entries a week in replies and comments as asked.
  • spend much more time interacting on other people's posts than posting my own
  • join discord groups in my niches that give votes.
  • post on platforms that give votes, such as esteem, ulogs, and busy.
  • Use steemdunk to autovote people I care about and thank God for the people who do that for me too.
  • Use kyrptonia, qurator, feedyourminnows and sbi among some others to get daily votes on my posts.

My motivations are:

  • helping fat people lose weight naturally like I did.
  • paying the rent so I can continue with the above.

Everything I do an all social media is in support of those two goals.

Failure will never overtake me if my determination to succeed is strong enough.

I say this to myself daily.
I supply myself with adequate dose of inner motivation.

You can definitely see when people on here just write to get upvotes or whatever. It's the same with any content creation on any platform. Those that do it for the love of doing it will always have an audience. Dedicate yourself to a craft and (after time, it may be a long time) you will find an audience willing to reward you with likes, or upvotes, or views or compliments. Half the battle is time.