You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: VISIONEERS, or how to stop complaining and start fixing global problems

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Ok, as a disclaimer, sometimes I like to give bold simple solutions, and its just the way it comes out.

I don't really know how well this idea would work, but I kind of wonder what would happen if we had more time or self-employment in any number of positive endeavors. What if we accomplished things more creatively and inventively? For me this means, less time cranking away at the dross. My most creative work is done 5-6 hours a day. If I do 8-10 hours, I lose my edge. But I spend some of the other time thinking deeply, looking for solutions, and reinventing myself. (Maybe less hours per person, would cause more jobs to open up, but maybe more because creativity requires many helpers --look at what Steve Jobs did.)

Also, two inventors I admire, are Einstein and the Wright Brothers. Both of these seemed to come up with their world-changing ideas, while they were off the clock, but they still had useful employment which sharpened their minds.