Charity Catwalk - my Runway Fashion Model Night!

in #life6 years ago

Like I had mentioned the other day, it's been super busy 'round these parts. I'm getting better at doing volunteer work, as in actually following through instead of just musing about it, and I'm serving some time on a board of directors for a local women's nonprofit. We had our monthly board meeting, and another gal came over to chat as we were all leaving.

She asked if I was still going to attend EN VOGUE - which is a fashion show designed to benefit The Skagit Friendship House, which she works at. I had planned on it, and then she asked me if I was interested in modeling. I did have to think about it for a hot minute, but then I said yes.

Saying yes is something I'm working on (along with saying NO when necessary). I knew that if I just said yes, that everything else would fall into place. And of course, it did.

Thursday the 8th (International Women's Day, by chance!) was work-day-busy until about 130pm, then I ran over to the venue for hair and make up. As someone who washes her hair on Sunday & Thursdays, rarely uses product, and has a makeup regime of "hrm, eyeliner? mascara? okay done" this was super weird. I even had on fake eyelashes, y'all.

IMG_20180308_214914_259.jpg

My hair was done up in this incredible poofy messy braid. The patience that these stylists have is inspirational. Also a ton of hairspray, good grief. And lots of bobby pins that I need to find a use for now!

IMG_20180309_144928_704.jpg

The primary focus of EN VOGUE is to get designers to create a new outfit from something pre-existing. One gal made a leather jacket from a recliner, and another designer made two outfits using pieces from a sleeping bag. THEY WERE AMAZING.

Something new that they've added, that I was modeling for, was the boutique section. Because designed pieces are one-of-a-kind, you pretty much have to fit into them immediately. Or pay to get them tailored. With the boutique pieces, you can go to the shop and get the shirt, jeans & jacket worn on my size XS into your size whatever. THIS IS AMAZING and brilliant and sensible, right?

runway.jpg

I had attended the show twice previously, and I've always gotten something. It was weird being on the other side this time! I would do it again in a heartbeat though, as we were able to raise over $30,000 (before their expenses for the show) from outfit auctions, silent auctions, raffle prizes and raise-the-paddle (specific dollar amount ask) donations.

Get out of your comfort zones. Do something selfless for someone else. Donate your time, and your energy. You'll be wicked tired, and your heart will be wicked full!

Sort:  

I love the way they braided your hair! It's beautiful! (and so are you!!) What a neat experience to volunteer for!

thank you! it was a super fun time and i got to meet some really fun & creative people!

Life of a model. Nice piece @twisislandflames.
Thr first step to doing something astonishing is getting out of your comfort zone. Thanks for this.

right?! there's that saying that greatness begins where your comfort zone ends - or something along those lines. i saw it on instagram once or twice ;)

This is wonderful and you looked great! You are right, sometimes you just have to say yes without thinking too much! And to have raised over $30k for the Friendship Charity is amazing. Well done! (I'm sure you were tired )

thank you - this is the biggest fundraiser that they do, and getting the money is so important for upkeep on their transitional housing. what a great group of folks! :)

You look beautiful!! Oh my gosh your hair is so cool:) what a fun time! I am glad you had such a great time, such a good cause and the talent showcased is unbelievable! Gorgeous clothes <3

thank you! it's been a while since i've had fun with a group of mostly people i'd never met before. it's a nice reminder that i need to do stuff like this more often! :D

We are constituted so that simple acts of kindness, such as giving to charity or expressing gratitude, have a positive effect on our long-term moods. The key to the happy life, it seems, is the good life: a life with sustained relationships, challenging work, and connections to community.

i couldn't have said it better, myself - thank you for reinforcing the truth!

All your good self