Growing up in an African home

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hi I'm Udodi and I don't know if I'd say fortunately or unfortunately but I grew up in an African home which has a lot of challenges.

Growing up in an African home isn't an easy task, as I said before it has a lot of challenges. I personally have been living in one (An African home) for 17 years, so I think I have a little experience. So if your still living in an African home and your reading this these are some mistakes you definitely do not want to make in an African home:

1.CHALLENGING AN AFRICAN PARENT:
African parents are like demi-gods so whatever they say you have to accept it. It doesn't matter if you've learned the sky is blue if an African parent says it's orange the sky is in fact orange at least in their presence. If you don't and decide to challenge an african parent just know your on your own whatever happens next is your fault.

2.YELLING OR SLAMMING THE DOOR AT AN AFRICAN PARENT:
God help you after that. This was a mistake I made personally after that I learned my lesson. That day my dad really vexed me and I walked out on him going to my room, he didn't even call me back he just allowed me to enter my room before I could lie down on the bed my door opened, it was my dad looking as angry as hell, it was right there I knew my dad had the skills of a wrestler. It's an experience to remember.

3.EVERYONE OLDER THAN YOU IS YOUR AUNTIE OR UNCLE:
Let an African parent catch you calling your elder (even if it's with a month)
by their first name you've committed a crime against humanity. Just know that doing that comes with knocks on the head so be ready to receive your share of that.

4.NOT DOING WELL IN SCHOOL:
If your staying in an African home doing well in school is not an option. You must do well or just get ready to go and learn a handwork somewhere. African parents are never satisfied so you must be the best, even getting a B on a maths test is a crime cause they'll always be like the person that got A does he or she have three heads. So just do well in school or make sure you have plans for your future.

5.VEXING AN AFRICAN MUM:
African mums are always there for you when you get in trouble with your dad but when you offend them just know you've made a mistake especially if you do it in the kitchen cause it's garri turner that's landing on your face next. So if you offend an African mum just get ready to starve that night cause there definitely will be no food for you that night.

6.FORGETTING TO GREET AN AFRICAN PARENT:
If you end up in this type of situation if you could go back in time please do cause it's for your own good. But if you don't just expect a greeting from them and punishment like kneeling down or pick pin then a long talk on RESPECT while carrying out your punishment.
I hope your able to learn a lot from my mistakes and experiences. This is just the first part of growing up in an African home I hope you really enjoyed it.

image credit

Sort:  

LOL!
Going back in time when you forget to greet an African parent is actually the best solution.

My own is, never ever dodge slap from an African parent. What will happen next is hard to describe

I personally have been living in one (An African home) for 17 years, so I think I have a little experience...

Dude u have enough lol....

It's not an easy something. Thank you alot

I had a good laugh....

what i think people dont realize is that most of those things are not because of hate or wickedness but to teach and train a child

hahahah. some people sometimes take advantage of it but it is unfair. if the power is used judiciously it is mainly to put the younger ones in the right path