Quarantine: Day Whatever

in #life4 years ago


fender-logo-1C9C3D79BA-seeklogo.com.png

Tuesday Gammy told me that Fender guitar had a 3-month free trial of their instructional website (for the first 100k people to join).

Free? Sounds good to me. I grabbed my flat top and sat down to register.

We've got the quarantine going on here in Illinois, USA, but I'm an electrician so I still go to work every day. I'm not working in occupied homes at present. I've been working on a new house that is still waiting on dry wall. I've also been working in a recently purchased house that needed some upgrades before the people move in.

I don't have any more time than I did before but with this promotion going on I thought I'd give it a try.

I've played some off and on for a few years but have never really tried to get any better. I know a few chords and when we get together for jams at my daughter's house I can usually play along.

The first couple of lessons were really an introduction: This is the body, This is the neck, These are frets, etc.

Yesterday I was introduced to a 1-finger C chord and a 1-finger G chord. I had no idea there was such a thing. I play a 4-finger G and have for years because that 's what I was taught by one of my friends.

Who knows what I'll pick up today.

If you're sitting around with nothing to do and have ever thought about picking up a guitar, why not do it now? You've got time. Right?

The link to the free trial - if it's still available - is here. There are several subscription offers after the 3-month trial. I'll more than likely get 1 year for $89.99 USD.

Keep playing and Have fun!