You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Effective is Our Prison System?

in #life7 years ago

It is a strong system and hard for a German to judge but I get the impression too many get to jail for "minor" things - in my country the system is shit too - here they focus on a try to integrate criminals back to society when they get out (a tricky topic). Also the life imprisonment in Germany means 15 years - that is it - in your and other countries life is life - I do think for certain crime life imprisonment should be much longer.

Sort:  

I guess its a case of the grass being greener on the other side, especially if you're in prison :)

But I do think a profit based incarceration scheme is problematic

agreed - here it is not profit based (I think at least - but who knows what public is giving to 3rd parties), all in public hands (not sure that is good but different topic)

Absoultely.