Anecdote of a Nurse I

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemitics

ANecdota.jpg
Photograph of my authorship.

The title of post does not leave much to the imagination, I know, but in fact I can not think of another name because I'm a nurse and this is one of the many stories that throughout my career I had to live or witness and one or another anecdote or experience that has reached my ears, to tell the truth I will not tell you exactly what I have to live or what is of a colleague, I leave that to the free thought… and so it begins.

Some time ago I worked in a private hospital of prestige and great name that to enter as a patient was "a little expensive" for not exceeding the limits of exaggeration (when the devaluation in my country was not at the point where is today) well, being this pompous center the "majority" of the people who are treated there are also and "many" of them think that the employees who worked there were their servants and even more so nurses.

U5dtUdNMeMDj8cjzVNqzw71nP4KHum3_1680x8400.jpg

I would have little more than a year there in that hospital center and a short time in the area to which I had been assigned, at first they give me the rooms that I was going to order and they give me the information of each one of the patients; I dedicate myself to make my rounds and the whole process, the time comes when the hygiene and comfort in the patients' bed is realized (those who are dependent on the nursing staff) just at that moment a relative approaches when being in nursing informing me that your family member needed to ask me something.

After a few minutes I go and approach the room, let's say the "3-XX", when I enter I find a quiet man and he asks me:

  • Excuse me, what time can I bathe?.

I answer that at the time that seems convenient, but in the condition in which it should preferably do so in the morning (at that precise moment). When I approach the door to proceed to leave the room, the gentleman tells me:

  • Yes, really? Excellent! my son here, prepares everything for you to bathe me.

The patient would have about thirty and many - forty and a few, his condition was respiratory, he could mobilize all his little body without any difficulty, so he could perform his hygiene himself, I turned before leaving and said:

  • Excuse me, but you can bathe yourself, you are in a position to do it, there is no indication that you can not. To which immediately and in a very shameless way he answers me:

  • No, I need you to take a bath, that you bathe me, because in fact the other nurse did it and there was no problem.

I was surprised, not so much by the comment itself, but the uninhibited form in which it did, my response was a no-nonsense one and I proceeded to leave the room. Because whenever a patient has a disability for their own mobility, the bathroom depends clearly on the health personnel and this was not the case.

U5dtUdNMeMDj8cjzVNqzw71nP4KHum3_1680x8400.jpg

Did you understand where the matter was going? He wanted me to bathe him in bed because he wanted me to massage him and wet him everywhere, maybe that day dawned horny, the end was not exactly for his personal hygiene. Obviously I did not do it first because it was totally absurd and a complete lack of respect for both the woman and the professional and second because it was an absolute lie that another nurse had bathed him in bed, he had entered the night (and in fact at night he does not perform hygiene and comfort, unless he deserves it and he did not need it), he just wanted his fever to go down so he would be happy.

Of course after the indignation, this was informed to the corresponding supervisors by the regular channels so that they could talk with the relatives of the patient so that they were aware of what happened and the consequences that this can bring (the relative was nothing more and nothing less that his wife and you can imagine everything that happened).

I hope you liked it, as well as this anecdote I have some others to tell you so that more or less imagine the things that sometimes happen to us during working hours.

U5dtUdNMeMDj8cjzVNqzw71nP4KHum3_1680x8400.jpg

Valex

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by valex from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.