Sort:  

Alaska:

Long live Alaska, which is kind of like a conservative version of a liberal Hawaii. Some leftists may find it difficult to travel over to Alaska to mess it up. Some leftists probably don't like the cold. So, patriots can keep it strong.

9/11 Truth

It's easy to look at the videos and notice how Building 7 went perfectly down in the same way the two twin towers did. As a sixteen year old watching the WTC fall, I felt like I was watching a movie as real things do not fall straight down like that outside of controlled demolitions. If the fires were melting WTC, it would have done so at a slower speed and not straight down.

Pancake Fiction

But the entire thing went down. But there was no fire all over the building. Sure, the top parts could have fell, but not the entire thing from top to bottom. As a kid, watching it live on television, fall to the ground, I was expecting it to stop falling. It kept on falling and falling and falling. And my brain did not know what to do with it. I didn't know all that I know now, 19 years later. But I knew it was odd. But I was trying to have an open mind.

Terrorists

And on TV, they said terrorists. And my brain didn't know what to do with this new word as a teen. I simple saw it as a criminal or a bad guy. So, I was thinking, how is that different than before? We have always had villains. This is not new. We have police and military. Why? Because we have bad people. After September 11, 2001, the television had live coverage, 24/7, for months. It was non-stop just like it is now with Corona Virus 2020. With 9/11, the talk was about these bad people. My brain started wondering how it could be even be possible for bad guys to come out of nowhere to do that. And I thought that it was not really a new thing. And I thought that you cannot stop terrorism as it is simple crime and we have always had crime.

9/11 was a successful psychological operation.

The destruction of the towers and the thousands of lives lost on that day, created the perfect stepping stone to the mess we are currently in.

I see Bernie is back to flagging, with new accounts.

OTOH, I am left wondering why @a-non-e-moose flagged this post. I usually can count on comment to challenge my speech from you. Please enlighten me, since as you should understand about me by now, if I'm wrong I want to stop being wrong. Flagging me without comment does not avail me of that more substantial reward for my speech of criticism than tokens.

"...if I'm wrong..."

I'm not saying you're wrong with this downvote. Wrong can be ambiguous, so I'll specify even. I'm not saying you're incorrect. I'm also not saying you're morally wrong (as in right and wrong in an ethical sense) with/for this, I don't really believe in that stuff.

I mostly downvoted because I don't want 9/11 conspiracy theories to get paid. My downvotes (and upvotes) are largely symbolic anyway, just like the text you're reading now. They do have a financial impact yes, but it would take 100 to make a penny at current prices. I sometimes even vote with only 8% or so in either direction just to get the vote to appear in cases where I decide to place a vote, but don't feel particularly strongly. An 8% upvote from me is like a negligible amount by the way, I know on some accounts that can be a lot.

I've also always been irked by your portmanteau of 'enemy' and 'media'. It seems to me to be very hate-soaked, and perhaps also undermines levelheaded discussion. I've downvoted things before because they seemed needlessly inflammatory to me. That said, I've got no great love for the mainstream media.

"...I don't want 9/11 conspiracy theories to get paid."

I would fain disagree that a 4 year engineering study by an accredited university is at all comparable to tinfoil hat bearing lunatics ranting about moon men.

That being said, I appreciate your candor, and being forthcoming with an explanation I requested.

I can grant the term enemedia seems to you to be hate filled. I note it is those it refers to that demonstrate hate IMHO, spreading lies that mislead them that believe them and cause them to suffer the consequences of not understanding factual reality, and increasingly silencing dissent so that those that do not believe them have no alternative to lies on which to base their understanding.

I do not lie, nor do I seek to prevent people seeking information elsewhere.

It is not I that spreads tales I know not to be true, with intent to harm. I use the term because it accurately labels propagandists and censors, who seek to do us ill.

Thanks!

"...spreading lies..."
"...silencing dissent..."

These are certainly things that go on which I'd rather didn't. I can understand why you would use such a label, but like I said it comes across venomously to me. It's not the only thing I weighed in my decision though, or even the major thing.

"...tinfoil hat bearing lunatics ranting about moon men."

I don't think the 9/11 conspiracies rise quite to those lofty heights, but I do think the endless resurrection of a tragedy in such a way seems somewhat unseemly. It seems peripheral at best to the affairs of today, and I often find it to be charged with divisiveness or dishonestly stilted for political manipulation.


This goes to show that I did and do honestly weigh content in a balance that does indeed tilt both ways, not just to the positive side.

I do tend to give many more upvotes than downvotes though. In fact I think you might be in the black from my votes overall on this post because of ones on this discussion, despite the downvote on the root post.

"It seems peripheral at best to the affairs of today..."

The effects of 9/11 are perhaps today more pertinent than ever. My life and freedom are affected by the surveillance that sprang from the legislation enacted in the shock of grief and anger daily. It was a coup, and transformed what was left of America, land of the free, after the Kennedy assassination and coup, into the surveillance police state it has become, where Goolag and Facehugger are funded by the CIA and deliver our data to covert overlords without possibility of challenge in the atmosphere of fear free people live in today.

Under Shrub, John Yoo (or Yee. Mix them two up), the President's legal counsel said that it was lawful for the President to order the testicles of a child to be crushed to interrogate his parents. Under Obama an American child was assassinated, without being convicted of a crime - without even being accused of wrongdoing at all - and no legal challenge or censure of any kind ensued.

This is the legacy of 9/11 that haunts the home of the brave today.

The government no longer fears it's subjects, it's property and possession, as it did in Athens, Tennessee, or even respect us. It is we that fear orange jump suits and indefinite detention, rendition, or even just termination for no reason at all.

I was a child in Alaska. During hunting season I would bring my hunting rifle to school on the bus, and leave it in my locker until school ended, when I would hike through the woods and hunt on the way home. All the kids in my school were generally armed similarly. We fought, bullied and teased one another, stole each other's girlfriends.

No one ever got shot. No one ever even pulled a gun.

If ever some psycho had come to the school to harm us, we would have shot them dead. Not the teachers. Not the cops, while we hid behind classroom doors. We children were competent and prepared to defend ourselves, and kids today should be too. It's not that we didn't know how to shoot each other. It's that we knew better.

That is what perished on 9/11, and why it matters more today then it ever has. We are capable, competent, and community, yet we have been divided, degraded, and deprecated by 9/11, and become more so daily.

It matters. It matters more every day as things get worse. It is absolutely central to our incipient enslavement right now.

"...the surveillance that sprang up..."
"...the legislation enacted..."
"...the surveillance police state..."

These and some other things you mention are the things that seem relevant today to me. I don't see 9/11 as a cause of them though. What we see comes, by my reckoning, from less glamorous issues that have been festering since at least the rise of industrial capitalism and probably long before then. Freedom of whoever or other has been encroached by whoever else since time immemorial, 'our' governments are just mechanizing and formalizing the process in lockstep with the advancement of technology. There didn't need to be 9/11 for this to happen, it's opportunism at best.

I'm not exactly sure where the anecdote about your childhood fits in to the bigger picture, but I can certainly agree with you about gun safety. I'm not mystified by firearms. They're a tool like any other, beholden to the wisdom of the bearer.

I've no support for any president or nominee I've yet seen, and doubt I will for future ones. In my opinion the taint goes back much farther than 2 decades, or 20. At least since the beginning of western civilization we've been eroding respect for humanity. Our colonial forebears willingly dehumanized and slaughtered indigenous peoples the world over. What else can be expected to come from hundreds of years of development by the profit of such actions? Why expect the systems that established, benefited from, and reinforced this status quo to respect the humanity of people now? I don't think a national identity is going to protect anyone from this sort of abuse.

"...what perished on 9/11..."

I thought what perished on 9/11 were a few thousand human beings, not some intangible, inanimate, unfeeling ideals.