The Blessing from Helping Others

in #life6 years ago (edited)

What truly is the best way to stop drowning and worrying from problems? And perhaps how can life's crisis like discouragements, failures, immense circumstances turn into a real blessing as we thrive?

I will share to you two of the most treasured stories I've learnt last year. One, a story that had happened more than 80 years ago and second, a story from a guy named Rogelio whom we have discovered primarily from facebook.

Here's the first story of Yankel the Baker:

In Crown Heights, there was a Jew, Yankel, who owned a bakery. He survived the camps(Holocaust Survivor). He once said, “You know why it is that I’m alive today? I was a kid, just a teenager at the time. We were on the train, in a boxcar, being taken to Auschwitz. Night came and it was freezing, deathly cold, in that boxcar.

The Germans would leave the cars on the side of the tracks overnight, sometimes for days on end without any food, and of course, no blankets to keep us warm,” he said. “Sitting next to me was an older Jew – this beloved elderly Jew - from my hometown I recognized, but I had never seen him like this. He was shivering from head to toe, and looked terrible. So I wrapped my arms around him and began rubbing him, to warm him up. I rubbed his arms, his legs, his face, his neck. I begged him to hang on.

All night long; I kept the man warm this way. I was tired, I was freezing cold myself, my fingers were numb, but I didn’t stop rubbing the heat on to this man’s body. Hours and hours went by this way. Finally, night passed, morning came, and the sun began to shine. There was some warmth in the cabin, and then I looked around the car to see some of the other Jews in the car. To my horror, all I could see were frozen bodies, and all I could hear was a deathly silence.

Nobody else in that cabin made it through the night – they died from the frost. Only two people survived: the old man and me… The old man survived because somebody kept him warm; I survived because I was warming somebody else…”


Thanks to Melinda Kontos' the source of this touching story [Accessed:http://bit.ly/2GrjNmq]

More than just "touching" this story is as much as "inspiring" in a sense. The first time I heard about this, it really thought me, Being self-centered will not allow us to grow and mature, a tendency to focus on the problem will narrow our capability to be of use and will close opportunities before us. Some said, poverty is one of the biggest “sin” you know why? Because it stops a person from becoming useful, the financial inability becomes daunting.

There were many things that made me discourage to myself last year. My decisions went like pieces of cards shuffled as the wind blows. But it was only when I learn to leave and quit blaming, push myself to help cultivate joy in helping others. Instead of whining I have to gather 10 things I thank each day that I was able to come back from the "disoriented me" to the "functioning me".

And one of the things that I thank God the most was the physical strength that He gave each day for us to accomplish our tasks. And that alone have been anchored well by our second story amidst his inability to work but here he is!

22 years old, He was carrying a sack of bananas in the streets of Cagayan de Oro City. He was 16 when half of his body was paralyzed because of stroke. Then his brother died causing the wife to remarry and leave 2 young girls to Rogelio's care. He may have been incapacitated but for him, it didn't mean he can't do anything anymore. He assumed the full responsibility of being a father to the young girls-he works to send them to school, give them food and clothing by travelling from Mambuaya to Cagayan de Oro (17.3 km), everyday to sell bananas. But his physical condition is pulling him down and undoubtly, he needs help."- Said our Host, Shantel

Photo credits to Maria Juvelyn Bongolto and Post accesed from: http://bit.ly/2mWwMDP

This guy here could have been discouraged in life, and make his physical condition an excuse for not working. But not for this man! Instead of focusing to his problem, he unintentionally switched to becoming a breadwinner, that initiative our senses can provide is truly life-saving. His desire for helping and need of help became a blessing for himself and his family.

The team visited him again after few weeks with our little surprise. This was sponsored by viewers from Hope Channel South Philippines under Let's Pray Pilipinas Program.

From our last visit his family plans to go to Bohol, as per Rogelio they have relatives there and hoping they could find a place to stay. Though they still need donations for the fare and also a pocket money that will sustain them for the meant time.

These trails can be methods of discipline that even in the most crisis situation we can still have something to be thankful and our poverty can never be a hindrance to help others. We don't need big gifts to start giving. A heartily gift can make difference!

I hope this article can inspire you today. Whatever situation in life you may be facing. We all have immeasurable hope.

He that watereth shall be watered also himself. Prov. 11: 25.

Quote: The secret of Judaism. When you warm other people’s hearts, you remain warm yourself. When you seek to support, encourage and inspire others; then you discover support, encouragement and inspiration in your own life as well. That, my friends, is “Judaism 101”.

God bless you. ^ ^

If any of you would like to share their blessings to Rogelio I will give it back to him in full. Just message below.

Sort:  

God bless you, too. @vanny! Excelsior forevermore. There is hope in God. @gratefulvibes @originalworks

Inspiring :)

Thank you ateeeee ^ ^