I want a simple life. How do I get it?

in #life8 years ago

I never knew what I was born to do. I never woke up one day sure of what I wanted to be when I grew up. Most likely because everyone was pushing me to be what they wanted me to be. My dad pushing me to be an engineer.  One of my cousins pushing me to be a singer and the other pushing me into sports. My mom lecturing me about a long-term, practical careers. I remember in grade school I loved art class. The only class I was looking forward to. I took art again my sophomore year of high school. I was then nudged in the direction of game art and animation. Fueled by my love for playing games I thought it a fantastic idea to make games for a living. I graduated and went off to college but after 2 semesters I learned it was impossible for me to finish. I was scared of being in debt like my mom. 


So I came back home and my mom told me about an IT training program. I thought about a career working on computers but never learned on my own. The IT training program helped me get my Comptia A+ certification. And for a while, I was sure what I wanted to do. Then I realized that I'm not competitive enough to be in this field of work. I have to sell myself and my knowledge to potential employers. With a lot of practice, I can to it well but I'm not sure if I want that kind of life.


I want to experience life in a little cabin in the woods next to a waterfall in the mountains. I want to sell beautiful paintings and write bestselling novels on my typewriter. I want to master how to hunt and fish and farm my own food. I don't want to fret about how safe my food is to eat. I don't want to live in an apartment. Or live in a house that I'm paying for until my kids have kids. I don't want to drive through traffic every day and work for hours. Then come home and make dinner. I want to hike and take breathtaking photos from mountain tops and valleys. I want to experience raw nature and stargaze from my bed at night.


How do I get this life? Do I have to be rich and retire early? At 20 years old can I achieve this goal in 5-10 years? I think it's possible for me. I just need to get out of debt, find and buy land, and build my little cabin in the mountains next to a waterfall. It's hard work. I have to force myself to practice my art so I'm good enough to sell these paintings. And write every day so I can sell best-sellers. I have to go to work so I can get out of debt and save for my dream life. I have to remind myself not to get frustrated or stray off my path to happiness. And most of all I have to be determined. 

Sort:  

You will need to be financially independent. I would recommend you to find a book called "Choose Yourself".

It is not the only source. But it will make you think. And...

Thinking is a start

Thanks for the book recommendation. I you have more please tell me. I'm currently reading As A Man Thinketh, The Law Of Success In 16 Lessons and Rich Habits.

It is just not about reading too many books. It is about application.

The book I recommended will give you many practical examples as to how the world has changed. In this new economy there is opportunity for everyone.

Also you are here on Steemit. It is a good start. Start creating value with your posts and get returns.

One must have financial knowledge to understand how money works. I would advice you to read the classic .... "Rich Dad Poor Dad".

Enjoy your current life and time. You will not get that back. Keep your eyes, ears and mind open. You will spot opportunities as you go along. All the best.

You're right. I get so wrapped up reading how to be successful written by successful people. I forget to act.

You are only 20 and yet, you have been pushed towards so many different things. I remember myself when I was your age. Shit, I was studying two different programs and not because I was smart as fuck (ok, I am smart but that really isn't a point here), but because I was completely clueless. Clueless about what I wanna do once I really grow up. Yep, you've read that right! I wasn't even close to full frown up person, that came maybe even 10 years later and thats fine. All I'm trying to say is; you don't have to figure out your entire life at the age of 20. Its perfectly ok not to know what you wanna do for at least couple of years more. Most importantly, don't let anybody convince you the time to choose is now or even better, now or never.
Its more important that you get to know yourself. Once you do that, it'll be much easier to make big decisions and chances are, those decisions will be the right ones.

Thank you for saying that and reminding me I need to take it slow. I'm so anxious to get my life started because I see so many people my age with their shit together. I want so badly to be like them. I'm trying too hard and too fast to get to know myself. I'm asking people "how long did it take you to find yourself?" "when did you know your purpose in life?" "how did you find your dream job?" like they would give me the answers I need to find myself. This is why I'm planning a self discovery vacay for my 21st birthday this November. I need to be alone with myself and my thoughts and chill for a week or two.