New Years Resolutions- Wait What's That?!

in #life6 years ago

As we approach the end of 2017 I find myself reflecting. Not only reflecting on this past year but also the past few years. Reflecting on how I've ended up where I am, and the person I have become. People always talk about New Years resolutions, personally I've never done them. I don't think I would have the willpower to hold myself to them! But to the people who have successfully completed them props to you!

I am just going to talk about how I am not going to improve myself for the New Year, but continue to find who I am and work on the things in my life. I am very lucky enough to have a lot of influential people in my life, who I am very grateful for. When these amazing people give advice I find myself writing it in my phone, to hopefully come across it when I am feeling a little down. Or in my adventurous moments when wanting another tattoo finding an inspirational quote to live on my body for the rest of my life. (But I told myself I am not allowed to get anymore tattoos for another year, lets see how that goes!) This is more of a documentation for me, but I would love to hear if you incorporate these into your life, or any comments you have!

Number 1- The love in my life should outweigh the fear. For me this relate to dancing, as a dancer it can be really fucking scary. The not knowing in dance is not a good combination for someone with anxiety. But constantly remembering that I have dedicated my life to dance and it is the love of my life.

Number 2- Love myself. Believe in myself. Be a badass motherfucker! And always "remember to keep on keeping on"- Joe Dirt

Number 3- Do what scares me, this goes back to number 1. But for me relates more to everyday life. Another Joe Dirt quote, "You can't have no in your heart. No is just not an option." Not necessarily saying yes to every little thing, but put myself out there, create new adventures!

Number 4- Last but not least (well all that I can currently thing of, and I think 4 is enough) I saw this meme on Facebook and it said

"drunk calling/texting our exes has been cancelled, we're onto better things for 2018, like drink texting/ calling our friends and leaving them 10 voicemails on how much we love and believe in them"

I personally have had a very rough year relationship wise. I fell in love, had my heart broken. Found someone I though I trusted, and ended up being abused. Eased into a relationship, only to have it turn upside down all in a heart beat. But I am determined to not have these relationships make me who I am, I am moving on and they are my past. I have learned a lot but don't want to go back to that. I need to think about myself!

Like the rapper Russ says in his song "Pull the Trigger," "Have my head up high and my middle fingers higher"- IMG_1620.JPG

CHEERS TO 2018!

Sort:  

Good post! Go through my blog and see my new content, Greetings :D

Congratulations @victoriamh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice post. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.