You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Effective is Our Prison System?

in #life7 years ago

Nice sharing and nice question. I think it really depends on the country itself..I remember few years ago I have read a news about Netherland rent out empty jail cells to Norway to ease overcroeding in Norwegain prisons. Even in the the same land (Europe), they got different situation. So, it really hard to say if the system is adequate if there are no comparision within the same nation..

Sort:  

yes I ran into some of this information while doing research for this piece, but I cut it out due to not being able to write any punchlines for it lol

Yes I see what you mean. As you can never do any comparison to prove whether your finding is right or not. As it had to be experimental, but you will never be able to do so!

I can most certainly confirm that there are empty spaces in prisons in the Netherlands. There are very mild punishments and it also takes a lot of processing time before someone actually gets punished. Try looking up the sentence for rape or murder in the Netherlands. You will be shocked how low the punishment is for these horrific crimes! Nonetheless, I am against heavy punishments like the death sentence or practices of public humiliation in other countries! Good reading material this post! A few facts can be found on this website about Russia, China and USA: https://spark.adobe.com/page/oYuPj/