Diary Entry: Comfort Zone Is Cancer

in #life6 years ago

Brother, forget all this nonsense. If you're here with us, you are the best and you must engrave that into your mind because if you won't, then you trully do not belong here. You, me, every single person that works in this f@cking bar is the best there is and we prove it every single day. You know... Until you have a right to wear this T-shirt, here in Ayia Napa you're like a God, a superstar. Don't believe me??? Brother, I've been here for 7 years already. Believe me when I say you didn't see sh*t yet.

At the end of my year long journey I started to really comprehend his words.

inside the bar.jpg Inside of our bar with author of quote written above

Ayia Napa, or maybe the bar I worked for, tully opened my eyes just because it was exceptionally uncomfortable. That's the main catalyst in this whole situation - leaving your comfort zone. While you're stuck in it, you will never take a step further than your nose. In a matter of fact, when you're comfortable nothing ever changes, nothing is ever learnt. You just keep floating in your bubble constantly filtering the same sh*t over and over again naively believing that you already know and seen everything there is. It is almost imperceptible trap. As soon as you walk into it, you will start looking for happiness in completely wrong direction, possibly for the rest of your life.

And I say this with great confidence because a year ago that was exactly the problem. I thought I saw everything there is. But during my journey in Cyprus I was proven wrong. I experienced so many things I couldn't even imagine before. That made me realize it's only a microscopic part of what is waiting for me if I decide to walk down this path further.

It took lethal doses of negativity to be able to realize these things. Year after year I was battling myself and enemies that were, as I later understood, always nonexistent. A life without meaning where vacuity is the epicenter of your own universe.

Though I don't think I was too far from the truth. Feeling of vacuity certainly can induce depression even on a good day, but the truth is... Glorifying vacuity is as meaningless as it can be. Who cares if sometimes we think there is no greater purpose for us? Who cares if we spend our time taking care of ourselves, or others?

Even if we can't change anything, what should we do when we realize that, despite everything, we still must live our own lifes?

What I realized is that the only thing you really must do in your life is to do whatever you want, whenever you want. And, in my opinion, the best thing you can desire living with this mentality is to escape the comfort zone. When you do that, there are no limits of what you can achieve.

Well, at least for me.


Thank you for reading. If you enjoyed my diary entry, you might enjoy similar stories of mine:

Diary Entry: Why Be Sad When You Can Observe Sadness Instead?
Diary Entry: Coldness of Lovers Warmth
Diary Entry: Preserving My Humanity