Opportunity Creation as an Antidote to Bitterness

in #life6 years ago

I work hard out here in Florida as an expediter, ensuring that the proper materials are provided, the work packages are progressing, people get to where they need to go...in short, I'm a valuable asset to my crew and the company.

Imagine how I felt when the project manager (occasionally referred to as "our illustrious leader") denied my boss's request for my raise. The manager's words to my boss were: "Get it done with what you have." Employees are actually merely expenses - we are pieces of machinery. We are numbers.




I was pretty pissed, but I tried to remember something...


Sometimes it's ok to be angry, but it's usually not a good idea to be bitter.


Bitterness comes from a refusal (or inability) to act. It's sometimes used as a way of denying responsibility. If I followed my instincts, I would resent the project manager. I'd lounge in the corner instead of going to work. I'd be lazy. I'd get all quiet and brooding and miss any opportunity that provides a route to success. All that resentment is a surrendering of power to another, and thus, a form of self-denial. The boss may still be an asshole, but he doesn't have to be the asshole that stops me from moving forward.

Why not create my own stamp of approval?

In his book "The Science of Getting Rich", Walter Wattles talks about the difference between creative and competitive mindsets. Competitors fight it out over what is already there; they battle over scarce resources. Creators bring the resources (or the tools to find them) into existence. Instead of chasing the stamp of approval that a hundred other people are after, today I had to remember my most powerful assets - relationships, personal interests, the ability to learn, and a creative vision.

  • Each relationship at work opens up the possibility of moving to a more preferable discipline.
  • Personal interests - music, writing, travel, and others - can be monetized more easily than ever.
  • The ability to learn opens up endless possibilities, as one can now learn the theoretical side of nearly everything online.
  • A creative vision dissolves boundaries and synthesizes a new path from the things listed above.

What can I take away from this? Don't be a total d**k. Don't throw a pity party. Instead, maintain positive working relationships with anyone who has decent character. Continue to learn as much as possible, whenever it's possible. Keep writing. Don't curl up into a ball, and don't punish others for annoying things happening.

Most of us are required to be some form of institutionalized servant. It will probably be my case for a while. However, I am thankful for what happened today; it is a reminder not to be complacent and fall in line for a check. If you find yourself becoming bitter or feeling helpless, embrace the creative mindset. There are more paths to independence than there have ever been.

Take them!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by voice-of from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.