30 Adventures in 30 Days: Adventure 1 Sunset Rock

in #life7 years ago

Hey guys! So a little over a month ago I started a 30 adventures in 30 days challenge to celebrate my 30th birthday.
I have completed those adventures, celebrated my 30th birthday, and now I would like to share my adventures with you! It was really tough for me to keep up with my full time job, adventures, photography, multiple social media platforms, and my blog. Now I promise to share them all with you!
I was inspired by another Tennessee hiker to give myself a 30 hikes challenge. It happened to be 35 days before my 30th birthday so my husband recommended I do 30 adventures before I turn 30. Challenge accepted! I have a passion for being in the woods and even more of a passion for photography. This was the perfect opportunity to get myself in better shape and work on bettering my photography skills.
I live near Chattanooga, TN which is known as the scenic city for a good reason. It is such a beautiful city with great views, landscape, hikes, architecture and scenery. I started my list immediately of places to adventure. Once I had my list of 30 places, each day I would choose my adventure based on the weather and my time available. I added a few places to my list as I went as I was encouraged and inspired by others.
I did all of these adventures while maintaining my full time job, part time photography job, a home, and my marriage. I was lucky enough to have family and friends join me on some of my adventures and made new friends along the way.
Oh and the best part, all of my adventures were free other than gas and parking at a few state parks. Being mid summer, most of my adventure hikes were to waterfalls. Worked out for me, as I am obsessed with finding new waterfalls and returning to old ones. I also have a love for long exposure photography.

Caution: Many of the places I visit have had fatalities due to carelessness. Be very responsible if you are going to be hiking near cliffs, ledges, waterfalls, and creeks. They can be very dangerous but if you are careful and respect the scenery the views can be so rewarding.
Also, a hike I may consider easy you may find not. Do not hike beyond your capabilities. I tried to consider the average person when describing my hikes.

Adventure 1: Sunset Rock on Lookout Mountain. Somehow I have never photographed a sunset here and knew it belonged on my list. This spot provides spectacular views from the bluff of Lookout Mountain stretching towards Chattanooga. You will also see the TN River wrapping around Moccasin Bend and Tiftonia. You can count on rock climbers to be climbing the cliff below you when it’s good weather. You can also count on watching the sunset with several others especially on the weekends. The hike is only .1 miles if you can manage to park in the tiny parking lot off of West Brow Rd. Otherwise you can hike from Craven’s house for a 3 mile round trip hike. Either route you take is well worth the trip.

Stay tuned for the rest of the adventures!

adv 1 sunset rock 1.jpg

adv 1 sunset rock 2.jpg

adv 1 sunset rock 3.jpg

adv 1 sunset rock 4.jpg

adv 1 sunset rock 5.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful pics!

Thank you! Stay tuned for more 😉

Such amazing beauty you capture!! Incredible photographer :)