Human depression. thoughts.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes a depressed person can end up in places like this:

Because depression is not how we look, but how we think. Let's throw away our stereotype image of a depressed person:

... and get real.

There was a time in my life that was tough for me. Things weren't going the way I wanted, I felt like I had no control over my life, I felt down all the time. It didn't just start out of nowhere, it was more of a thought pattern that snowballed over time. The alcohol and weed didn't help either. The result is depression. Yes, it is a mental disorder, and it ultimately characterizes our brain physiology.

That's what I think depression is. It's a snowballed pattern of thought. Although not the root cause of depression, the internet and cell phones and social media make it so easy now a days to get stuck in a certain pattern of thought that conducts depression. We all have negative thoughts from time to time; for some of us, more than others. These negative thoughts can reoccur without the proper intervention, and eventually shape our brain physiology and chemistry. Thought patterns occur; neurotransmitter receptors are up/down-regulated; depression-related neural pathways take form; behavior persists; neurological pathways strengthen. Some of us resort to drugs, alcohol, sex, social media - all of which are temporary cloaks because they alter our brain chemistry and emotions for a fleeting amount of time, then it's back to the dumps, except now it's worse because we learned that we can have temporary relief with this type of behavior.


(R.I.P Fredo - look his story up. I believe he battled depression and died from destroying his body with drugs)

It is not easy to get out of depression. Doing so means changing our neural pathways, neurotransmitter mechanisms, and thought patterns. But it is definitely possible. Our spirit can control our brain and body. Exiting the trenches of depression happens over time - years even. I used to go through depressive bouts every month or so. I almost expected to do so at regular intervals. That's it. I learned to think myself out of it. I used to go through it because I expected it. I still catch myself at times, even when I am not depressed, thinking the same thought that I was when I was depressed. I guess the key is to catch myself doing it and correct my own mistakes. Fighting depression is an uphill battle. But I can do it, you can do it. Friends are great to help, but ultimately its within you to fight your fight.

Best wishes,
Depression Experiencer # 14,087, 821

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @wakaflockasy :)

I need follow , Recruiting people to help each other / 맞팔 100% 합니다~!!

hi~ subject of the my channel is comedy and issues

If you follow me, I will do you, too.

thank you .!!

Steemit is sure to succeed!

Congratulations @wakaflockasy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!