Success and the Art of Rusty Trombones

in #life6 years ago


B171A7E0-5641-4D9B-A701-47152FA2FCA7.jpeg

10. Lu

STEEMIANS! (Or at least the. 0.3% of you who read these lol) I apologize for the absence. But it has been a busy last few weeks. From starting a second job, to my garden project and helping out my homie with his fight; I must say despite crypto-markets eating dirt, it’s been a blessed past month or so.

8265F3A1-30F5-4970-97D8-BC376F83FB82.jpeg
My raised bed garden. Growing sweet potatoes, onions, garlic, cabbage and blueberries.

D5293DCB-1BF1-47DA-8DFE-3C90BBF3492A.jpeg
_Team Mike Melikyan! Mike got the win over a tough opponent. Watch the fight (here)

These blessing all came through having supportive friendships and taking responsibility with the various commitments I made. These are the types of situations I prefer to thrive in. However, there are times in which one must tread amongst “tigers”. There are people in our lives, that for whatever reason have some form of institutional power over us. And to get around these folks may require more tactful approaches.

Here the I-Ching describes scenarios in which one must use humour, manners and a kind of harmlessness to get past what the I-Ching likens to “tigers”. When we are in an inferior position trying to move towards a more advantageous position, this hexagram prescribes what westerners would view as “Kissing Ass”. I for one am allergic to such tactics. From pointless small talk, to greasy compliments and fake laughter, the whole thing stinks to me. I personally hate most aspects of ass-kissing. But does it work? 98/100 times, if you can genuinely pull it off, it works like a charm.

6779D0DB-7ADA-4ABD-A2A4-62CEABC9FEBA.jpeg

At the end of the day, people who have the view that they are above you in some way, love to have their egos stroked. Kudos to you if you enjoy doing the stroking. But it’s almost repulsive to me. It might be the very reason why I haven’t enjoyed much success in corporate America vis-a-vis the (“Peter Principle”). That being said, I think there is a way for us head-strong types to tread lightly while being authentic.

If you’re the kind of person who repulses and red flags any sign of fakery, I think it’s primarily important to come to terms with how that trait might limit your ability to influence others for your benefit. Letting go of the need for someone to like you might mean that you won’t get ‘that job’ or be able to ‘secure that sale’, but it will afford you the peace of mind that you stayed true to yourself and your values. And when all is said and done, being able to sleep at night, beats the hell out of any perceived success you could impress anyone with.

Stay blessed always,

Lee

image.jpg
EAB85215-09EF-4861-AEE6-CAE5696EE854.png